Rather pleased with myself, today.

I am the possessor of one terabyte of memory and 4 gig of RAM in an Intel Core i3  Dell with Windows 7. Since I’ve done all the bits one does on a new machine for the last few hours the speed of the thing is a bit of an eye-opener. I know it’s empty. It doesn’t have 3000 plus 10 mb photos sitting on it. But I’ve just done a bit of photo editing just for the fun of it and holy moly it’s quick. It has the edit done as I’m making it.  Size-wise, it’s about a briefcase, where the other was about an airplane case.  And for the moment it’s causing a bit of confusion as there’s the feel of something missing from the environment. I could’ve bought Win8, but the reviews are extremely mixed about that OS so I decided to get the 7. And I got it with €90 off the tag. Granted it isn’t top of the range, but since I don’t play anything beyond a bit of chess or a solitaire now and again why on earth would I go for a tool used for gaming in HD.  But it will run Lightroom when I get it and I can add another 4gig of RAM when I get the full Photoshop.

One of the things that really frosts me happened on my way into town this morning. I need to set a scene first. About 15 years ago something occurred on these islands. They at long last realized that driving with dipped lights in low light conditions would be a very good thing. The dawning, the true dawning wasn’t about the lights showing the way like at night but to show to others your position.  Anywoos, this morning I was tailing a fool driving without lights. This gobshite simply didn’t cop on that EVERY car was lit and his was the only one without. I watched this guy like a hawk and not so long after he started cutting on corners. So on a straight stretch I put the hammers down and left the fool in my dust. Oh I forgot to mention, he was driving 15 MPH lower that the limit for the road and had generated a 20 car tailback.

 

 

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rather pleased with myself, today.

  1. Ed says:

    We’ve got plenty of those type of drivers here in the States. I’ve always thought that they should make it much harder to get a driver’s license. Here all you need is fair short term memory to pass the written test and a heartbeat.

    Congrats on the computer. The next thing to do is you haven’t already is to sign up for a subscription backup service so that your computer and those 3000 pictures are automatically backed up to a server farm somewhere so you always have them if the computer takes a crap or something tragic happens to your house.

    • V.H says:

      Yeah they are all over. I don’t know how they do it but that level where it’s total lack of awareness to other road users, I just don’t get it.
      Here though we’ve gone nuts on the license. You need to start all over if you need a permit for a different type of vehicle.Not just an upgrade. It’s just a money making operation.

      Thanks, I’ll look into that. They are still on the old one for the time being.

  2. Kelly says:

    Congratulations on the new purchase! I don’t blame you for going with Win7. I would do the exact same thing.

    • V.H says:

      Thanks Kelly. I thought that if things work with Win8 in a year or two’s time I’ll get an up-date. But I wouldn’t be able to uninstall it if it turns out as crapola (as people in the know seem to think) had I bought it pre-installed.

  3. Rebecca S. says:

    I am very happy with Windows 7. Will be for a long time. Congratulations on your new toy/acquisition.

    Bad drivers…hmmm…sometimes I believe I am the one the other drivers are mad at. Sometimes they do blow by me with impatience, but I am never going below the speed limit. Some people here just drive to damn fast. There are so many accidents, and now they say drinking and driving is way up in our province.

    • V.H says:

      Thanks, so far I’m happy. It updated with a huge amount. God help someone on dial-up, it wouldn’t be finished til next year.
      There are a number of speed points that create havoc. They tend to be the mid way between structured speed limits. But the one that’s worst is the 10/15 M/KPH below the upper limit because you tend not to have an easy drive to overtake them. They accumulate vast numbers behind them all with the same notion.
      So it’s either at the limit or 20-25 below.

  4. Kimberly says:

    How exciting! It’s amazing how fast they are new isn’t it as we thought the previous new one was fast. I’ve always gone Dell and have been pleased this far. Terabyte? Wow that’s a lot of memory! Which will be good for those RAW files. Congrats!
    We’ve got 6 lanes of road here and still get the ding dings who drive in the fast lane going under the speed limit, usually right next to someone going the same speed so you’re trapped. It makes me wonder if they’re oblivious or inconsiderate.
    Enjoy your new computer 🙂

    • V.H says:

      I think there is an aspect of control to the slow driving. Like where he is getting his jollies by thinking he is controlling other people. Here though. No. This time plain carelessness.
      This is my first dell. It seems I’m getting a good bang for buck. But I expect like all it will be outdated sooner than I think. But for now it’s a Ferrari. The only thing is it seems sluggish on startup.

      • V.H says:

        Via phone.

        • Kimberly says:

          A sluggish start up? That’s frustrating. I wonder if you’ve got some factory installed software on there that’s weighing it down.
          Are you enjoying your phone too?

          • V.H says:

            Meah it’s taking 40sec to open fully. And that wasn’t much quicker than the XP. I suspect it’s the McAfee.

  5. Mairead says:

    Congratulations on your new hardware. Photo editing will be such fun now with that kind of speed. I understand your frustration at the lack of speed when driving behind a slow coach. I avoid going shopping between 10 am and 11 am over here in Kentucky. Every slow poke ventures out and seems to be behind the wheel for that hour.

    • V.H says:

      Go raibh maith agat a Mhairead. Yes it’s be a joy. When I get the adobe software it should be good too.
      On teh slow coach. It isn’t so much the speed of itself but his speed position viz the national limit which causes a tailback. In teh past this wasn’t so much an issue with the bad roads we had, but now it had become extremely important. They discovered this in teh UK almost 50 years ago when they opened the M-way system. There 50 car pile-ups occurred each year for yonks, until the police started pulling idiots off the road for not keeping up with traffic flow. There they criminally prosecute for they charge with Dangerous Driving.

Comments are closed.