(sigh) You really wish some people wouldn’t help.

Mostly I consider Morgan a bit of a tit. I believe him snide and patronising. But dear lordy where did they find the other fellow.

I mentioned before if I was American I’d be a NRA Democrat. Well perhaps not exactly NRA, but certainly gun owning. For I actually believe holding weaponry is a Right. But I also hold holding said arms requires you be in control of yourself. That means No booze No drugs including the stuff handed over by the medics. You be trained in their use. That in the home they are ALWAYS in a secured container open-able only by the keeper of the arm.  Should ANY of these change then the weapon should instantly be deposited within a secure armory. Sometimes you have family situations where the people are nuts, drunks or pickled in drugs. Under no circumstances should anything more dangerous than a plastic knife be within their reach never mind multi round military hardware. But this guy, for heaven’s sake, talk about a poster kid for the banning of everything from a pea shooter on up. This guy is just dangerous, and on so many levels.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to (sigh) You really wish some people wouldn’t help.

  1. Rebecca S. says:

    I wouldn’t even give Alex Jones a plastic knife to play with. He’s quite obviously unbalanced. The Tea Party Republicans have a number of this sort representing them. As a ‘mere’ Canadian, I cannot understand or support the idea of being able to buy guns over the counter of Walmart, and i agree with you that all potential gun owners should have background checks before they exercise their right to bear arms. One more thing. Fighting for the right to uphold the 2nd Amendment should not preclude decent and respectful social behaviour. Mr. Jones was extremely rude to Mr. Morgan in this ‘interview’, if one can even call it such.

    • V.H says:

      I couldn’t watch the second bit.

      What I will say though that the Wal-Mart thing is over-egged. There are huge tracts of the Middle States where towns have moved to those bigbox stores on the edge. There they sell much the same stuff that the local gunsmith only without the huge mark-up. Nor am I too precious about the existence of Mrs Smith’s Gun-r-us.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Oh dear. That was horrifying. I wanted to turn it off after his first outburst, but it was like watching a train wreck, I just couldn’t turn away. Yuck, yuck yuck! What I don’t understand is how the owners of guns, like this man, can be so opposed to the checks and balances that so many of us want. The public face of groups like the NRA is seemingly decent people who are trained/educated in gun use. Why on earth do they not support that requirement. If they truly believe that guns must be available and used for protection, then why the semi-autos…I don’t know, I’ve already posted my thoughts, so there’s nothing new that I’m saying here. But to see that outrage about just wanting safeguards to control the violence, that man disgusts me.

    As for Piers Morgan…ya, what is it with him? He is disliked by so many, and yet he replaced Larry King’s primetime spot.

    • V.H says:

      Yeah, it was just a vomit of buzz terms designed to ping the widest number of his constituency. But that insane drivel designed to call to arms those that think in that way only alienates most of his own side as well. I would say everyone in the countryside had a gun of one sort or another. One they bought themselves. Then they have the legacy weaponry of fathers grandfathers grandmothers whoever. But in general there is a strong cabinet or even a room reserved for these.
      There’s two arguments going on. One city, where guns are used by the very scum of the earth and one country, where guns are used by nice generally sane people.

  3. Sage says:

    I own guns, but I have never been a member or a supporter of the NRA. My guns are locked up and unloaded. The NRA, in holding such an extreme position in interpreting the right to bare arms to be anything from a Saturday Night Special to a Assault Weapon, seems irresponsible to me. In a way, their extreme position may backfire.

    • V.H says:

      But by far the vast majority in the NRA treat it as a club. And yes I do believe that their political antenna are truly so far out that they are picking up clicks from Betelgeuse.
      How though, could any association include that fellow and expect that it would convince.

      • V.H says:

        And just to be clear. When I say I would be NRA if I lived in the US. What I mean is I would live in the countryside and would be hiking into places I would need protection from wild animals.
        What would I give to hike a line between the Grand Coulee and the Hoover dams. I spend time just before sleep plotting lines to walk.

  4. Ed says:

    I think Morgan must have spent quite a bit of time to find that guy. He chose him because he is obviously unstable and just letting him talk makes Morgan’s case. I own a gun and am in the process of buying another now that I’ve cleared the appropriate checks. I’m not a member of the NRA nor do I ever want to be mostly because I feel some guns should be banned for civilian use. But I do believe civilians should be able to own guns for hunting and self-defense like rifles, shotguns and handguns.

    • V.H says:

      I had to check. It seems this fellow is fairly well known and was one of the instigators of the deportation petition. So he wasn’t exactly picked off the street.
      What’s your opinion on concealed carry permits. For myself I think only peace officers should carry unsecured arms. As in all arms should be transported stripped in a locked very secure container. None of your shotgun or rifle butt down in the well of the passenger seat like you see here.

      • Ed says:

        I think they should only allow non-concealed carry permits so that everyone can readily see that you have a weapon. Being able to conceal it mostly means you can take it places where you probably aren’t suppose too. As for transportation, here it varies from state to state. In my state you can transport them but they must be unloaded and cased or rendered unable to fire with something like a trigger lock. I’m okay with that for the most part. I know in the state south of me, you can carry them displayed in the rear window of your truck though they must be unloaded.

        For me, I don’t plan to take either of my guns with me anywhere other than to hunt or home to tuck somewhere handy in case it is needed in self defense. I don’t keep either loaded but I do know where the ammo for one is in case it is needed in a hurry.

Comments are closed.