A New Year

I received an android smart phone from Santa. I’d always thought it would be a total waste getting one of those things since I rarely use a cell phone. Little did I know that a phone is the very last thing this little computer does.  It’s a dangerous little item too.  If you aren’t careful it’s like a credit card without you being aware of that happening.

Sherman Way is a street in LA. Why is it in my head at all. And how the heck did it get there.

Some very wicked things are going on. That poor girl in India. And Syria seems determined to implode. I recently read how a father smothered his baby son while crossing below a sentry post so the rest of his family might survive.

Music is crap this year. It’s tinny, twee and totally without challenge. Where are the edgy punky nasty little toe-rags trying to form something new. All we’ve got at the moment are the grads from the music colleges generating schlock to put a meal on the table. Basically designed to strip pocket-money from 12yo’s.

Kathy Bates, I saw in a new TV program called Harry’s Law. Set in Cleveland Ohio. She really is an acting genius. But the few episodes I’ve seen, while good, are rapidly running out of steam. It’s in the genre and stable of LA Law, Boston Legal and a few others. Watchable most definitely. Distinctly on the Democratic side of things for the US and so center for the rest of us.

I think my XP PC has had its day. I’m quietly amazed it lasted this long. Recently though it has taken an unconscionable amount of time to start and since the tiny phone has more active memory it’s laughing at the huge tower. It’s also beginning to look like an octopus on Ritalin with all the USBs filled. Do we need a CD writer nowadays. It was de rigueur. I don’t know when I burned anything, it’s been years, probably 07. I always put it on a toggle. Are CDs even on things anymore

I know I’m late to the game. But Angry Birds…. . When I got the phone first I went and installed all the worthy solid apps. You know Chess, Sudoku, GPS, aural books, news. But Angry Birds is just so hilarious. It brings back the only good of the lost years between 12-16 when you had a vaguely destructive attitude to most things. Not exactly nihilistic but actively destructive. It really is no wonder all armies like kids just above that age to mold.

HAPPY NEW YEAR

Vince

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A New Year

  1. Kimberly says:

    Ha, yes the phones are a bit of an addiction. Before upgrading to a smart phone, being around people who were on them ALL THE TIME was annoying. Now, it’s basically become another appendage. Angry Birds is fun and a bit addicting as well. You’ll have to try Draw Something and Song Pop (which is “THE” game right now) too.
    And you are right about music. In the game above, you have to guess a song/artist in a certain amount of time, like Name That Tune. I’m killing it in all the categories except “Today’s Hits” because I can hardly stand to listen to it.
    It’s funny you’d mention Sherman Way as I was just on it last night taking the bus from the airport into Van Nuys where my ride picked me up. It’s an old (for us) road – I think maybe 100 years?
    Good luck with the computer. It’s funny how they become “old” one day isn’t it. My laptop is hiccupping and lagging off and on now too. Music goes on the phones or mp3 players, but I have used the CD drive with DVDs. I haven’t looked at computers in years, so I don’t know if they are a regular option. However, I believe I will be in the market for a new one in the new year.

    Happy New Year to you!

    • V.H says:

      I’ll have a look at those on the App Shop. Some aren’t compatible with my phone until I figure out how to update the firmware. I can do that with the android as it’s UNIX or Linux based. I bricked it(new term) the first time I tried but as it was a download from the manufacturer I simply brought it back to the shop. It’s really very handy to have the Consumers Acts on speed dial in my head and so can quote like a demon when I meet stroppy shopkeepers.
      I think I’ll have a look at a Mac this time. They say it’s a better job for photo edits. I just have to pick a number I’m willing to pay. Either way it’ll be 80% less than the one I have now.
      It has a very good little radio on it that I listen when I’m out with the dog.

  2. Kelly says:

    I’ve become alarmingly attached to my smart phone. Yes, they are truly amazing things! While I do have a few silly games on mine (I dodged the Angry Birds, but I have Fruit Ninja and a few others), I focus more on word games.

    I rarely listen to any “new” music other than Jazz. (and I prefer “contemporary or smooth” Jazz) Other than that, I still prefer Rock from the late 60s, 70s and early 80s.

    Wishing you all the best in the coming year!

    • V.H says:

      I’ve not had it long enough to have genuine habits. It’s getting there though. Mind you as long as I can see limitations with it. Did you download the compass app. I did, then I removed it since I won’t be going to the Sahara anytime soon. It was pretty darn unlikely I’d ever need it.

      I find the thing about music. It has an aspect of timelessness if it is good. And while you might hate it on first hearing it sorta absorbs itself to the human arts. I believe that’s where Sue Boyle and Paul Potts came from. People that wouldn’t be listeners to classical anything recognize good when they hear it.

      • Kelly says:

        I’m still using an iPhone 4S which came with Google Maps. It’s actually a feature I’ve used on a number of occasions. Very handy!

        I know what you mean about good music being timeless. That’s one reason my iTunes contains lots of music from hundreds of years ago! Well, that and the fact I was introduced to so much of it early in life by some wise music teachers, both choral and instrumental.

        • V.H says:

          My one has the GooMaps too. I can also talk to it and it will type out the words . Now that one is fricking awesome.
          What it hasn’t got is a big memory as it came with loads of rubbish I would never use and I cannot dump it. In order to do that I need to do some research for the android is built to be able to dump it and reinstall a complete upgrade. It incremental. We all should be on Linux in truth. The way things are going at the moment we are paying to be locked into a brand. Frankly, its given me hope that Google isn’t only some behemoth filled with little liberal fascists and there is something to their advertising hype.

          Amy Winehouse was one that could be of any time in the last 100 years. She’s one of the recent good ones. Such a pity eh.

  3. Ed says:

    I’ve had a smart phone for almost two years now. They are handy but I still refuse to look at mine in public places. I don’t want to look like everyone else.

    I have windows XP on my home PC and still love it. I have Windows 7 on the laptop and love it. If my home PC ever goes dead, I will upgrade to Windows 7. I will never buy windows Vista or 8 though.

    I downloaded the Angry Birds app to keep my daughter entertained on road trips. Unfortunately I spent many long hours after she was in bed playing that thing until I solved all the levels. I’ve since remained celibate from Angry Birds.

    • V.H says:

      With the PC the RAM is 520 so running a browser which stacks data like firefox it ends up slowing to a crawl. But the worst is when I do an edit in RAW with a photo. It can take 3/4 min to complete. It frankly just gets annoying. And buying extra RAM which I could do wouldn’t really change anything except to bring it up to about 2008.
      Yes I heard Vista was horrendous alright. But can you buy new a system that’s lower than the current one.

  4. Rebecca S. says:

    Wow, you really are entering the 20teens. A smart phone and all. My eldest’s got one. He pays just for the phone/texting, but can use the computer side of things wherever there’s wifi, which these days is pretty much anywhere, including our house.

    Yeah…music. Well, with technology the way it is, putting everything on an equal playing field, the music business is taking time to adjust. There are lots of great musicians out there, but they just don’t get much hype unless they are super good at marketing themselves…which doesn’t necessarily go along with producing anything really groundbreaking, right? We are living in the teens in more ways than one, come to think of it.
    Happy New Year, Vince!

    • V.H says:

      I’m afraid I’ve little sympathy with the demise of the old music industry. I know their business model. And their risk was minimal while returns were huge. In fact their risk was absorbed into the running costs of their successful acts and passes into their accounts. The book industry is almost as bad. Well it was.
      I think all smart phones work like that. Where it will latch into any open network. I know when I’m in town the thing goes nuts listing all the connections.
      What I do find though is it seems to live on the power tether.

  5. Sage says:

    Happy New Year, Vince. I have one of those phones and dropped it back in October and when back to just the cell–it was a nice break. I’m back in business with the android again, but I’m doing my best not to be tethered to it. Yep, the world is a messed up place.

    • V.H says:

      Thanks Sage. I don’t know but you sorta hope things won’t be bad at this time of year. Why now more than any other, I haven’t a clue. But I do feel things that being horrible is worse now.

Comments are closed.