A recipe

I had some extra tomatoes from a stew I made last Thursday and rather that allow them to rot sitting in a bowl I sliced them and roasted them at a low heat (150C)for about 2.5 hours. Then cooled. They reduced by about a third and since I had the heat so low it didn’t do more than singe the edges a bit. Once cool, I put them in a jar topped with a good glug of olive oil and fridged them.

I’m having a problem with the volume of sugar in things. We have a list system on the contents info panel where the biggest item is first and next and next with the amount reducing of each ingredient. Sugar is almost always second on the list even before water for heavens sake.

Anyway, I went hiking Sunday morning first thing and didn’t get home ’til well after lunch time. As I came through the door I thought ‘Ahh’, I know what I’ll do with the tomatoes for I was somewhat worried as I’ve had tomatoes before that lived 8mths on a shelf before being ejected. 

Home Made Ketchup;

1 llb roasted tomatoes.

4 tablespoons of vinegar/lemon juice.

4 Anchovy depending on size. Better to go less than more with them.

200ml olive oil.

Then blitz with the wand.

I was truly shocked at how tasty it was. And I expect I’d need more vinegar to make it last longer than two weeks. Nor is it that red you get with the shop stuff. But I control it, so I know that there’s no extra sugar beyond the natural in the tomatoes.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A recipe

  1. Kimberly says:

    Mmmmm my most favorite way of cooking tomatoes. I’ve never thought of making my own ketchup since it is so easy to buy at the store. But I would imagine it was very good with fresh tomatoes. Quite simple (and healthier) ingredients too, although I’d have to hold the anchovy.

    • V.H says:

      Surprisingly enough the fish was in most such sauce ’til the recent past. On the ketchup. I wouldn’t have thought to do it myself either unless I was three-quarters of the way there with the jar of roast tom-toes in the oil. I’m going to try it with fried egg for breakfast. It should work, if Eggs Benedict work and it really does, my version should.

  2. Kelly says:

    Now that’s an idea I’ll have to remember come summer when I’m (hopefully) overloaded with fresh tomatoes. I’ve already got a nice variety of heirloom seeds I plan to start along about January or February.

    • V.H says:

      Odd really. It’s not that I didn’t know how to do it. Its as Kimberly wrote I always took it simpler to buy the stuff. I expect it could be hit or miss too as there are a lot of variables. I wonder could you do sun dried or half sundried. That would really intensify the flavours.

  3. I knew a woman who was on a diet where she couldn’t eat things if sugar was in the first 3 ingredients…it was eye opening as to what she couldn’t eat! We make our own bbq sauces, pasta sauces, and ketchup as we don’t want all the salt and sugar either. Branden is usually the one who makes them so I’m not sure how he goes about it but I know he doesn’t roast his tomatoes which makes your recipe sound even nicer! I will have to show this to him and we may have to give it a try!

    • V.H says:

      You wouldn’t believe the volume of the stuff. And truly no need what so ever. Roasting drives out much of the water, this condenses the flavours like with a sundried one. Only without that excess salt. I reckon if you went less on the olive oil and the vinegar you could make a good spread.

  4. Rebecca S. says:

    Your ketchup sounds amazing! Mmmmm…getting hungry now. I’ve made homemade ketchup, too, with tomato paste and a bit of honey and apple cider vinegar, etc., which is very good too. The roasted tomatoes, however…yummy!
    Lovely masthead, btw.

    • V.H says:

      At this time of year the tomatoes are pretty crap frankly. Little more than colouredy balls of water. That’s why I roasted them to rid more than 50% of the liquid, if not more. Hard to call that. And that would be one of the reasons the flavour might change drastically.
      I, stopped using the puree a few years ago now. It’s full of added sugar.

      Thanks on the photo. That was one I saw and placed myself to get. It is cropped to fit the mast so you don’t see it’s shot down and across a slight valley where the grass is totally frost.

Comments are closed.