Winter #XX

DSC_2785DSC_2789DSC_2800DSC_2774DSC_2787DSC_2790DSC_2788DSC_2799

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter #XX

  1. Kimberly says:

    Oh my goodness! Who are those cute puppies?!?! Double the fun for Jess. I bet she was exhausted after that outing. That first shot is lovely.

    • V.H says:

      A neighbour is rearing foxhounds for the Tipperary Hunt, those two are his contribution. I’m against the whole notion myself. Why on earth would I ride to hunt an animal that was designed to represent hunting Natives, or in other words, me.
      And aye, she did have a hoot with them. She leaped over one from standing. But she has issues with two of them. She is never as playful as with one.

      Thanks, it’s moody alright.

      • Kimberly says:

        That last photo seems to tell the story of two against one. Still very cute.
        I’ve never heard that about the fox hunt before. Really?

        • V.H says:

          Not really, that was how Jess was managing them. It was her moving so much that the two were always together and facing her.

          Yes that is the history of the hunt right enough. It the why’s of the Red Coat on the huntsmen. And why some of the references like ‘training the dogs’ has two meanings, both the hounds and the humans. Cry havoc and let slip the dogs of war. In fact, it’s rare that the dogs are called dogs. Normally it’s the hounds or the pack.
          In the UK that aspect of militia control is far clearer as it would be in the South of the USA from Virginia to Georgia. Here they are just a bit stupid when doing simple addition. 1+1=2

  2. Kelly says:

    How cute is that?! Fox hounds, eh? Is it common to be that light – their markings, that is?

    • V.H says:

      Yeah I’ve another ten or so but they are on the move.
      I expect it’ll darken to a tan. Still I wasn’t remarking on it as I would if they were black for instance. So no, the colour is common enough. They are a cream colour right now.

      • Kelly says:

        Yeah, I had wondered if those ears might darken a little with age. Plenty of hunting dogs in my parts (the variety depending on the hunt), including Catahoulas, Beagles, various Coonhounds (Treeing Walkers, Redbones, Black & Tans, etc. to name a few)…and of course the Terrier types (like our Suzy) for squirrels and Retreivers for birds. I’m thinking our new little Elly May has some hound somewhere in her lineage.

Comments are closed.