Housekeeping

I have a list of Followers that never comment and as far as I can tell never visit the blog. These guys added themselves without a by or leave. What I truly dislike though is the feeling that my blog being mined by scum for emails addresses, for the Follower option in both Blogger and WordPress is used in that way.

In general this blog is open to any argument with the proviso it’s done with politeness. And I don’t mind a bit of bad language as long as it’s not used as punctuation. However, you ‘will be judged’ on the effectiveness of such for the Author feels four letter words should only be used when one hits ones thumb with a hammer or such like.

Anywoo’s, I’ve blocked the follower option. The thing is, I don’t know if it has blocked those that want to read/see/be amused/furious as well. It could be the baby and the bathwater out the window by going this route.

Oh, I got two sets of the cutlery at Tesco. And yes they aren’t silver or good forged steel. But they do have heft and are well-balanced. I think I’ll get the full set.

Lourdes eh. There is something amusing with a Shrine being flooded. I don’t know why precisely.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Housekeeping

  1. Kimberly says:

    I’ve never really understood or used the follower option and now you say it can be used to hack email addresses…yikes. I’m an internet junkie, but clearly naive because it just blows my mind the number of people who use it maliciously. I’m sorry you had to do it all over again and hope the changes help.
    “you will be judged” made me laugh. Although, now I’m feeling a bit of pressure as I write my comment. ;).

    • Vince says:

      There is active malice in some of it. And some are making a business out of building up sale-able lists to market to people. You’ve seen blogs pointedly directed to a select segment of a population. That’s a market. You’ve also seen the ad’s on a blog targeting you on what you looked last on Amazon or eBay. It’s not eBay or Amazon that’s doing that but you not clearing your history and cookies from your browser and Blogger and the rest of them are sticking in their weaselly nose. But they are just annoying. What really frosts me are those that mine in the background. Them are far harder to get rid of.
      I’ll bet you as well if you trawl the back areas of your mail you’ll find stuff you never put in.

      Ah yeah, me point about bad language has to do with the Art of using it. If you don’t use it that often it will have the true impact when you need it. 😀

  2. C says:

    Hey, I am having trouble finding your active blog. Is this the most recent blog that you are keeping, or is there a more recent one?

  3. Rebecca S. says:

    I subscribed by email…not sure if that’s the same thing, but I’m still getting your posts. We call those types ‘Trolls’ – those who just scan your blog or facebook page for their own devious ends. Good for you for giving them the boot. I can see your masthead photo now.

    • Vince says:

      I’m never sure what ‘Trolls’ mean, but I think that is a person. I believe this is more automated. I’m glad the email is working. Especially so since I changed since I dropped the other name.

  4. Mairead says:

    Vince – I understand your frustration. My site was giving me fierce trouble a month or so ago, constantly crashing and overloading the server. I think it was probably spam bots. I have started blocking the IP address for each spam comment I receive, and the situation has improved, but boy is that time consuming. Anyways, I fully understand your need for this little bit of housekeeping.

    • Vince says:

      Sometimes the hairs just prick and one cannot say what the hell is causing it. And sometimes it’s an outright attack on the system from some site you’ve opened at some point. Even when you have the full bells and whistles security system like I’ve always had, still some sites you allow are selling space for shit they have no control over.

Comments are closed.