Can this be possible. And is my response because I’m male.

When I saw this in the store this morning I thought to myself that ‘yeah, I could do with some new cutlery’. And €6.49 instead of €44.99 for a set of six place settings with a fork, knife, soup spoon and a teaspoon was ok. Anyway I picked up the leaflet and I’m still convinced I’m misreading what it’s saying.  What it is actually saying is €45 for a place setting of a fork knife spoon and a teaspoon. €11.25 per piece.  It wasn’t until I went online to check that I actually believed it wasn’t an error.

What this is saying is that it costs €300 for a dining set of stainless steel flat ware. This isn’t silver. This hasn’t had a bit of silver waved in its direction. This is your common or garden molten steel dropped into a mold with thousands of other fork/knife/spoon molds and polished in a big pot. I simply don’t get it.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can this be possible. And is my response because I’m male.

  1. Rebecca S. says:

    More like 4 euros for the place setting and 40 euros for the packaging. Expensive is better, right? Maybe it’s hand polished by gnomes or endangered leprauchans.

    More importantly, did you purchase said ridiculously priced cutlery?

    • Vince says:

      There isn’t a snowballs chance in hell that I was going to fork over €11.50 for a teaspoon. But since they are marked down to €1.60, or €6.50 a set, I will get one to see if I like the balance of them. I have lots of the little stickers. You’d never know they might have a lovely feel to them. But again, there was no way I was going to pay €45 for four bits of tableware. Quite frankly even at the €6.50, for steel knives and forks, it’s pushing the upper end of my price point.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I’ve never understood the whole buy by the place setting concept. I guess so you get the number you need, but whenever I have to attend a wedding and I have the obligatory $50 to spend on the gift I always think, “Wait, I can only get ONE place setting for that? ONE!” Then I end up buying something else because I can’t grasp spending that much on service for one. There really is no need for a nice set to be hundreds of dollars, in my opinion….and I’m a girl. 🙂

    • Vince says:

      So I’m not missing something then. I was thinking a canteen of cutlery would have six place settings. Would be about the €/$/£100 for stainless steel and in a presentation box. Yes, I will spend for a well-got chefs set. But even then €100 would be my limit. How much thinner do I want my meat FHS.
      If it was silver I’d say grand, maybe.
      I expect cutlery is primarily a wedding gift. So wouldn’t you feel as mean as dammit buying for one or two. And they aren’t even a FULL set. Then you’d have to go nearly 600. Nuts

Comments are closed.