Winter fun

I took this early yesterday with a lens at 100mm, f4, iso200 and a shutter speed of 8 sec. I giggled when I saw it come up on the computer when I transferred them.  It is the lower half of Orion. The reason I’m so darn pleased is I didn’t expect it would come out. Really I didn’t. And the 8 sec was too long. There is movement of the earth showing. Slight, but there. And it picked up the different colours of the stars.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter fun

  1. Michele says:

    That is very impressive! I like the second one also.

  2. Kimberly says:

    That is amazingly clear isn’t it! What time of day is that second one taken? It’s very pretty. Speaking of winter, our temps dropped a bit last night, and I was actually able to open my windows and let some fresh air in. It’s been weeks.

    • Vince says:

      I was so shocked that they came out as clear as they did, the star one that is.
      The second was taken just after dawn a week ago.

      The band where our temp exists is so narrow that we never get truly bad winters or truly good summers. Spring begins in Feb and ends in June. Autumn begins in Aug and ends in November. Our trees change colour one at a time. This week it’s the Apple. We almost never get a New England Autumn where there is a total riot of colours.

      I’m glad you are getting some relief from the heat. (for some reason that sounds dirty)

  3. Kelly says:

    How fun that you did such a nice job of catching the stars! Orion has always been my favorite constellation.

    I love that last shot – so crisp.

  4. sage says:

    I always take comfort in seeing Orion in the winter sky… Nice photograph.

    • Vince says:

      Yes, there is always a zinging crispness in the air when you really see Orion.

  5. Courtney says:

    Wow, amazing shot of Orion.

Comments are closed.