I was so proud.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I was so proud.

  1. Michele says:

    Wow! Lovely shots. Jess seems very curious about the bunny. Nessa would be afraid.

    • Vince says:

      Thanks Michele. Yeah, curious is a way to call it. And you might be surprised. My Jess is totally two dogs. When I go shopping and I put the bags into the car she will go crazy if anyone hangs about the car. I mean really nuts. I didn’t know what she was doing, and then one day I came on the car when there was someone in the next spot and there she was giving it loads. So Nessa mightn’t be the pushover you believe. They have odd quirks and odd pictures of their positions and so jobs in ‘their’ society.

      • Michele says:

        I would be really surprised if Nessa did anything but hide in terror but I guess one never knows.

        • Vince says:

          Yeah I think so. My Jess is such a little lady in the house but such a bold thug when on a walk.

  2. Kimberly says:

    That first shot is so clear. I like the last one too. Where is it from? What’s below – beach, field, or??? It’s not the landscape I typically associate with Ireland. Very interesting.
    Is Jess gentle with the bunnies? Mine likes to chase them, but I’m not sure what she’d do if she got that close.

    • Vince says:

      The cliff is a 17-19C slate quarry. It has loads of those. Well, it has about a mile of those odd structures. There is a baseball sizes pool at the bottom.
      Yes I like the 1st one myself. I got a nice contrast with the deep green and the berry.

      It was remarkable, I rounded a corner and there they were. Jess with her jaw holding the hare -like a rabbet only way faster- but not squeezing. It wasn’t going anyplace for sure, but neither was it hurt. It was still alive last we saw of it.
      But she did catch it.

  3. Kelly says:

    And rightly so….these are photos to be proud of.

    Jess is nicer than my pups – they would have eaten the bunny once they caught it. I had two dogs in the past (both gone now) who hunted rabbits as a team and it was actually quite amazing how they worked it. One chased while baying, the other followed silently at a distance and snagged the bunny when it circled back (as they always do).

    • Vince says:

      I’m fond of the first one. It came out with more pop that I’d hoped.

      I expect if she had a team she’d be more into the hunt. As it is her ideas of hunting for food has the motorcar and supermarket in it.
      It is a delight though to see them going about things though.

  4. Ed says:

    My dad lets some hunters come down to the farm with beagles to hunt rabbits in season. They are beautiful to watch while they are doing their thing.

    I’m pretty certain that the only rabbit my dog Ted caught were dead ones. It wasn’t for lack of trying but he just wasn’t quick enough at it.

    • Vince says:

      Much of that has stopped here. Insurance meant having anyone on the property with permission was hugely expensive. People were getting shot and them suing the farm. Or falling off horses and doing the same.

      As I said above they can surprise you.

  5. Rebecca S. says:

    I absolutely love those berries – so plump and red. Good one! T’would make a lovely Christmas card.

    My son’s friend came over last week to show us her photos of Iceland from a recent trip. We both thought it looked, in places, a lot like Ireland (and she’s actually been there).

    So what, exactly were you so proud of? Jess and the bunny catch? Did Ireland win a sports victory? What?

    Oh, and I read your reply to my comment about The Mammy books. The difference between its setting and Limerick’s is duly noted. You know, the senior high school students study Angela’s Ashes in their English class. I was a bit surprised, but then my eldest loved the book. Son #2 refused to study it, on the other hand, and after stating his case was assigned Hamlet instead, which he very much enjoyed. He was rightly pissed off when he found out they weren’t going to be doing any Shakespeare that year.

    • Vince says:

      Jess catching the Hare but not killing it. She waited for me to arrive.

      Why in gods green earth would you cause that type of novel to be foisted upon kids is utterly beyond me. We had Peig. In fricking Irish. It’s about the miserable life of a family on the edge of the Atlantic.
      Frankly you need to have had about ten years of a miserable marriage as training.

  6. sage says:

    I think Jess is a little proud too!

Comments are closed.