The rain in Spain…..

Right click to a new tab to em-biggen

I’m uncertain how one photographs a aircraft in the air. That’s why there is two. I, myself, lean to the one where it’s turning since it’s a view that cannot be seen on the ground. But…..

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The rain in Spain…..

  1. Kelly says:

    I love the shot of Jess taking in the view along with the shot following it. The sky is gorgeous!

    I lean towards that last shot of the plane – as it leans towards me.

    • Vince says:

      Actually she has her eye on a sheep further down the slope.

      90% of her fun is gone in the summer once the flocks are put out on the mountain. I cannot allow her free rein with them about.

      Yeah I think that one too.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I also like the shot of Jess. The one with the piled rocks is cool too – what a great view below. Are these views from your usual mountain hike? You’ve probably mentioned it before, but what is the significance of the rocks?

    • Vince says:

      Thanks on the Jess shot. Yes I took it last weekend.

      On the mound, I haven’t written about it. But I will very soon. As to what it is. The full truth is no one really knows for sure, for sure, for certain. But to pull out the clearest and more likely. I’d say it was a combination of things. But mostly an Iron Age burial mound, one that was lit and the fires seen for miles like a beacon. I suspect these fires were lit at Halloween, Dec 21st, Feb 1st, Mar 21st, May 1st, June 21st, Aug 5th, Sept 22nd. AKA the equinox and solstice and the half way between them.
      I would dispute the Iron Age bit of it. I would shove it back much much further into the neolithic.

      • Kimberly says:

        Even though it would be interesting to know exactly, maybe it’s kind of nice that it remains a bit of a mystery. Iron Age, Stone Age…they’re quite old. I’m surprised it’s just left alone ,and no one has roped it off to sell tickets yet. 🙂

        • Vince says:

          The problem is our history is very agendised. Up until very recently the pre Christian monuments were seen as being built by outsiders exclusively. Then that pendulum swung to seeing that all were home built.
          When reading virtually anything about Irish history you need to think about the ‘who & why’ of the author. Never forget that there are two Race on this island. Mine and the other lot :-D.
          So I view that mound as a graveyard of my ancestors. The other lot view it as something to relieve themselves on. It’s not in any bad way where there is active thought applied to pissing on someones remains, but simply since it’s not theirs they think it’s not anyones.

          • Kimberly says:

            (fixed)
            Hmmm, what made that pendulum swing I wonder, a sense of nationalism? Lack of historical evidence?

            • Vince says:

              It was the other way round. The Celtic Revival started, and gave real legitimacy to nationalism.

  3. Rebecca S. says:

    Lovely. Especially the clouded landscape.

    I’m reading The Mammy right now. Enjoying it! Someone said it’s like Angela’s Ashes on Prozac 🙂

    I suppose your shadow is the closest we’ll get to a self-portrait, eh?

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, it’s more plucky working class than the unremitting hell of the other. But each book is set in a different city. Limerick is without one shadow of doubt the most divided city on these islands even today. It is far far far nearer to a third world place than to a first one. Think a smaller Rio without the heat or anything good really. While Dublin always had a degree of employment to keep people going, the last time Limerick had full employment or even near they were shipping salt beef out to the troops on the Crimea.

    • Kimberly says:

      Oh, I thoroughly enjoyed The Mammy and the other two books about “Agnes Browne” and her family. I like that comparison to AA. The family had its fair share of tragedy, but as sad as it was, it was just as funny. The characters were so endearing.

Comments are closed.