A few new ones

Right click to a new tab to en-biggen.

The house is a bit twee for me. But nowadays one so rarely sees thatch it’s worth a stop and a shot or two.

The third shot is of one of the two in the second, taken a day or two later. See how emaciated it is.

Note the Smurfs have gone all Art Deco.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A few new ones

  1. Kelly says:

    What does it mean when you say “twee”?

    Amazing the difference a couple of days made for that bird! Have they flown away now?

    • Vince says:

      Sweet, cute or/and sentimental. Bordering on the Disney. The thatch works with a traditional house OR when it’s used in a modern house in a modern way. But this one is too too tooooooo perfect.

      No, they are still in to roost every night. And I got the mouse/rat that killed their brothers. I’ve decided -halfway- that the rat got them.

  2. Rebecca S. says:

    Twee or not, the thatch is lovely – we never see anything like that here!

    Do they call that beautiful fungi, bird bath fungi? No? They should šŸ™‚

    I Always enjoy your photos, Vince. You often show subjects of Ireland not shown in the tourist brochures.

    • Vince says:

      It’s always been a goal to have more knowledge about fungi. I’m always finding them when out with the hound but since I don’t know enough to say with certainty that they would kill me off, I leave them.

      Thanks, I’m glad you like them.

  3. Michele says:

    I love the photo of the bird on your border. What kind is it?

    • Vince says:

      It’s a Swallow , Swift or House Martin. They are all ‘of’ the same family. But we here in Ireland call them Swallows collectively. In the UK they lean to Martins.
      Anyhoos, that one is the parent of the chicks. I’d say hen because of the stain near her rear. But who knows.

  4. Kimberly says:

    I like the house. Do you think it’s fairly modernized inside now or is it a newer home made to look traditional? The birds are cute. I can’t get over how floppy their beaks/mouths are – like an old man without his teeth.

    • Vince says:

      Yes it isn’t bad. But it’s far from being traditional. The old ones don’t have a yard of a straight line in them. It the one thing that sets them apart. They really are unique.

      On the birds. Yeah exactly.

Comments are closed.