A splash.

Taken the next night. I think it’s as good as the limitations will allow. I’ve rid the hoar from the leading edge. And the number of pix blown is tiny. Taken after 22.00h June 30th.

Sorry, I cannot seem to get it to nest below the other.

Taken tonight at 2300h. June 29th

This entry was posted in comment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A splash.

  1. Michele says:

    Did you take that with the new camera? Awesome shot. Love the painting, it has a lot of movement.

    • Vince says:

      Yes, with the new one. Not bad for a month in, eh.

      Thanks, I was aiming for a bit of movement. Summer plant-like as it were. But there is a bit of camera shake for it was about to topple from the hook.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Shut up!!!! You took that shot of the moon? That is INCREDIBLE, like what you see with a telescope. Wow!
    I like your painting. The colors are so vibrant. Did you use acrylic? I wish I could blow it up even bigger. I’m dying to see the stroke marks/blending in the blue/green patch on the top left.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, right. It was a bit unexpected. I couldn’t continue for it clouded over in jig-time after that shot. And that’s a pity for it hasn’t gone into the head yet, the method of getting such a shot.

      No, oils. And that’s very unusual for me. I don’t really like oils for I cannot get that degree of flow. To get it to leave the brush you have to get such expensive paints that when you thin it it doesn’t dilute the pigment. I put this on with #1 #3 #4 palette knives. So it is neat, out of the tube and blended on the palette. When it dries a bit I believe I’ll apply a bit here and there. There are a few edges that need a bit of blurring. Some are a tad to hard for what I’m after.

      • Kimberly says:

        I was able to pop it open larger this time. I love all that texture. How large is the canvas?

        • Vince says:

          30cm x 40cm. Not so big. It fits to the easel without the need for squeezers to clamp things in. That’s a bloody pest when they won’t fit.

  3. Kelly says:

    I think your moon shot is wonderful!!

    The painting is just the bright spot of color I needed to see today, too. Very nice!

    • Vince says:

      I was so delighted with the moon shot I had it up before I really thought of it. I’ll hopefully get better. I expect I* will since you really can see small pocks from meteors along the edge nearest the dark where I’ve no control whatsoever. And then this might be the very best I can hope with the tech I’ve got at the moment.

      Thanks, I have a spot in mind for it where it’ll toss some light from a dismal corner.

  4. Rebecca S. says:

    Wow. Nice moon shot. Congrats for capturing that!
    The painting is like a big bowl full of peonies and the like. Really lovely.

    • Vince says:

      Thanks, I’m hoping to improve it. But it’s looking unlikely tonight.

      Peonies or poppies was what I was after. In that high summer heat anyway.

  5. Ed says:

    I’m more of an acrylic kind of guy too for the same reasons but my wife does pretty well with oils.

    I never tire of moon shots.

    • Vince says:

      I expect I will once I get to the limits of the camera and lens. The reality is the moon is sorta there and I expect it’s one of those subjects that’s a given. Thing is though we don’t see the moon like I can photograph it. Our eye sees a moon much much more blown that the view from the lens. And due to that it becomes a science subject and not one of mood. Our eye doesn’t see a dead lump of rock like in my photos.

Comments are closed.