Where the hell is it !

All this past winter I was simmering about doing a job on the house, specifically  the electric. This leads as night follows day to other things, for you cannot have one new bit laughing at the rest of the place. It leads to conflict and discord.

The fusebox was in dire need of renewal. Was dire ten years ago. And this year was the year, since the power company said old wiring was the reason I was having trouble with the shower and cooker brownouts. So this past week I had an electrician in and now I’ve a brand spanking new trip-switch with a whole heap of new plug sockets bringing the number nearer the needs of the 21st century and less those of Faraday.

While all this was going on, I was out painting the floors in the shed with a hard-wearing acrylic so everything, dishwasher, clothes washer, drier, tools (power and other) was relegated out-of-doors to free the floor for the washing drying and subsequent painting.

This morning, I’m listening to a tweep-tweep of a hungry mobile phone. And the ground seemed to have opened up and swallowed the teat used to feed the thing. I’ve searched and searched. Searched in places I darn well know I wouldn’t have put it, just in case I had a brain fart and put it there.  And you’d think Samsung -the gobshites- would have made the phone charger fitting work with the compact camera fitting since they are the same. (I have that one.) The same to the eye anyway. But no.

Now, I’m not one of those Luddites that thinks everything back in the day was better. Because it wasn’t. But a few things concept-wise operated seamlessly. There was an idea that one standardized where one could, and where it mattered. So ALL fuse boxes are now gone in both the UK and Ireland. Mine was a hold out. All plugs are three-pin. And pretty much everything works at or about 240 volts. So why then have I fricking wires coming out of drawers like an untrimmed French chick on a beach. And for things I’ve not one clue what they’re for since the parent item has had its day 10, 8, 6, years ago.

But they’ve scared us haven’t they. Terrified the bejeepers out of us. Has anyone bought a replacement wire for a doohickey-doodad recently. Well you won’t pull the price out of the free-range coin in your pocket, that’s for certain.

This entry was posted in comment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Where the hell is it !

  1. Michele says:

    “untrimmed French chick on a beach.” This is an image that will take a long time to leave my head thank you very much.

    We have Android products, we have Apple products, and we have other assorted electronic products that all seem to have different cords. I’m forever searching for the chargers. It is annoying.

    • Vince says:

      You-are-welcome. But I left it up to you. You could have gone armpit :-D.

      I have a gang with six switchable sockets that they live in til I need them. But the phone one was being moved to another wall. That was why it vanished.

  2. Ed says:

    Thanks to modern unstandardization procedures, I keep a tackle box full of wires and connectors and such from everything that I have disposed of over the last twenty years. Usually I am lucky enough to find a replacement in there.

    I finally had to update my fusebox a few years ago when the electrical scrapyard in California that I was special ordering replacement breakers from started to run out of replacements.

    • Vince says:

      Yes but why not have things run on a fairly standard voltage so the charger can fit the item. Any charger to any item. I swear they are doing it to piss us off.

  3. Kelly says:

    Hmmm…I don’t think I would let electrical go ten years in need of replacement. And of course those chargers are never going to fit all your gadgets – that would be too sensible!

    I love that photo of Jess!! It’s a look I’ve gotten many a time. 🙂

    • Vince says:

      Ah it was safe enough. It’s just for new build they put in the trip-switch type of circuit breaker. What I’d was the old ceramic bottle fuse.

      Odd about the dog but she will look at the new camera. And since most of my daylight photos are landscapes she provides a good near-in model.

  4. Kimberly says:

    Did you ever find it? I worried when I saw the picture of Jess that maybe you realized she had eaten the darn thing! (because that kind of thing happens in my house). I just recently threw out all my extra chargers that I had kept just in case. It might be time for an apple phone!?!? I’ve had a couple of iPods and a couple of iPhones and the cords all work on the other devices. Now I’ve got a charger in almost every room of the house.

    • Vince says:

      Not yet, but it’ll turn up. The only reason I use it at all is when hiking for I believe it to be part of safety equipment. It was just because it was squawking that I realized it had vanished. And no, I don’t think Jess had at it. Socks now, them I find miles away.

  5. Crystal says:

    I love the picture of Jess here. She has distracted me from the subject at hand. What a sweet face!

    Things are always disappearing from my home. I blame The Borrowers. I used to adore those books as a child. I wanted to shrink down very tiny and live in the walls and sleep in a match stick box atop cotton balls. 🙂

    • Vince says:

      The older I get the more I put things in a place/hook/shelf/position and leave them there. It is not so much that I begrudge the mind space to remember where they are so much as laziness.

      Yeah she’s a pretty one right enough. She is on a canvas chair I told her was hers and she has been sitting on it since I got it. How the dickens she knows is beyond me. But I’m certain she has a vocab better than most five year old kids.

  6. R. Sherman says:

    I’m with you. Why there can’t be a universal charger for all the gadgets is not clear to me. My guess is, they want you to lose them so you spend money to replace them.

  7. sage says:

    “wires coming out of drawers like an untrimmed French chick on a beach.” That’s funny (or should I say, “Shocking!”?)

Comments are closed.