Surfing, news and a bit of loving.

Since I don’t really use the front door I’d not noticed that another pair of Swallows had established a home. And bolshy little bastards they are too. They divebombed me when I went out that way.

Of course my favorites are the pair you see on the mast. Whom this morning at more or less that position on the clothes line went at the dance with no pants. Which lets be frank, it’s good that something is gettin’some round these parts.

I’ve just spent the last hour with a nail running it through every hole on the fly-swatters. I couldn’t figure out why my wrist wasn’t getting the strike this year. When this evening I had it in my hand and the sun caught it just so. Then I could see it had virtually no holes where the hole should be, causing it to act like a wing not a net. There was attempts to make them, but they didn’t complete. Anyhoes. Now I’m back with my killer backhand swiping them out of thin air.

The split on the Referendum on Europe was 60/40 in favour of the Treaty. Which to my mind will mean a latter-day version of the Corn Laws. Where instead of the upper-class English we’ll have unelected civil servants drawing huge salaries and golden pensions at 60% of final salary, for life. This here at home and in Brussels also.  Ah well, if things go as I think it won’t matter one damn, for in the two years left to Merkel she’ll have destroyed what Adenauer envisioned 60 years ago.

This entry was posted in comment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Surfing, news and a bit of loving.

  1. sage says:

    you must have really used that flyswatter a lot to have it so clogged up. And there is a lot packed in that last paragraph!

    • Vince says:

      No, the swatter was totally new. There was a plastic film over the perforations in the mesh that needed opening up to allow the air to pass.

      As to the last one. To put it into a US context. It would be like as if Vermont or Maine had decided to forgo getting federal transfers, forever. That they would from now until doomsday be tied to a currency but since they have committed to balanced budgets will never be able to borrow to invest.
      What we’ve voted to do to protect venial idiots is to hand to Germany total control while copper fastening the emptying of our people forever more from the state.
      I am furious on levels that I’ve yet to discover. So much so I can hardly frame it.

  2. Michele says:

    My first thought is that you need to get one of those unelected civil servant jobs.

    • Vince says:

      I wrote a comment but it seems to have vanished.

      You are not the first Reilly to make that suggestion. A professor of history of mine mentioned I should enter the Dept of Foreign Affairs.

  3. Kimberly says:

    The birds in the front probably thought you were trespassing on that side of the house. It seems as if it won by a decent margin. Is that because of fear about whatever the alternative would be? From the few things I’ve read the concern is that the stabilizing the Euro is what this is supposed to do? But it seems like it ties the hands of the individual countries to do anything to stimulate their own economy…but I don’t know if I’m even understanding it all correctly.
    Are you going surfing?

    • Vince says:

      Yes; Yes; and Yes. But what they are fearful of is requiring another bailout from the IMF/EU. And being refused then having to default. That is something I believe to be inevitable, so if not today then tomorrow or next week.
      Aspects of the economy are overinflated even after four years of this shit. Personal debt is the highest in the world and business debt is not far behind. So for all this debt to be repaid at par will take 40 to 50 years. This time frame EVEN if we have growth, something we’ve not had in three years. You see government debt is never repaid. Growth erodes it as long as you growth is above interest on the money. Say if 4% growth with 2% cost of money. Eventually the principle with compounding will become less and less a part of the overall. BUT if you have made certain you will never have decent growth you’ll always pay a coupon on the cost of the money for there is a very real prospect of never being able to repay it.

      No I wrote the title when I was going to treat/moan about the cost of lenses. But when I found a site and between that and walking the hound I forgot it.

      • Vince says:

        I’ve been trying to find a clear cut exemplar of what’s going on. Back in the boom huge numbers of people took on mortgage debt. They had two jobs and could take care of it. But say the second job is lost what do you do now. I’ll rotate it bit for you. Say you with your good income decide to have kids. In the normal run of things you’ll need a partner with equal income to match yours. For there is nothing more certain than the kids are an equal and growing cost to the mortgage. And here when I say you what I mean is someone in your position. You are above average in income but not with double the State average, yet. See what I getting at.
        The bet made by most households here was the two income mortgage hoping that growth would erode the size before kids came popping onto the scene. But now the value of the house is 60% off 2007.
        Here are some understandable numbers.
        2007—–€400,000 for an average family home of three bedrooms.
        €35,000 —- was, and largely is, the average income.
        €10,000—-rent for the average house.

        • Kimberly says:

          That’s what we deal with too. I bought just before the top of the bubble and now? Well it’s dropped so much I can’t even bear to look anymore. It would be fine to just ride it out, but with people losing their jobs or pay cuts affording that high mortgage is almost impossible. And there’s nothing they can do because they can’t sell the house without taking a loss.
          The govt has done a small amount to help people in this dilemma. The steps have yet to help me with my upside down-ness, but I’ve a job. That’s not entirely true, the city govt did reduce our property taxes to early prices for a time. I think that’s over now though.
          I’m of the belief if they helped the regular people who tend to be left out of all govt support (we don’t benefit from social programs or tax breaks) we’d do a lot to help turn around the economy. We’d start buying things again.
          It sounds like that kind of thing would be limited over there with the treaty. I wonder, if the euro does stabilize as hoped with this, will the eu allow for loopholes to enable the individual countries to get back on their feet again?

  4. Rebecca S. says:

    In the words of an old jazz standard, and for your birds…”Picture a little love nest, down where the roses bloom. Picture that same sweet lovenest, see what a year can do. He’s washing dishes and baby clothes, he’s so ambitious, he even sews. Don’t forget, folks, that’s what you get folks, for making whoopee.”

    Sorry you are so angry at the results of the referendum. I think it might be time to pad up that resume and join the civil service there 🙂 Here, the govt. is absolutely gutting ours…doing things like eliminating the coast guard off the shore of a very boat-filled Vancouver – relying on volunteers to rescue ‘man overboard’ is ridiculous. Anyway, that’s what’s making ME mad.

    And about those scholarships for our son? He did very well!

    • Vince says:

      Oh, I’m delighted to hear about your lad. Sometimes finding the darn things is harder than fulfilling their requirements.

      Here and in the UK inshore rescue is done by the RNLI. While the coast guard is a function of the customs&excise. There is an element that does rescue but it’s a tack-on. Like the RAF with their Sikorsky’s. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptKjGGEwozk&feature=related

Comments are closed.