A very good clear explanation

And a few shots from my new camera.

This entry was posted in comment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A very good clear explanation

  1. Michele says:

    The video was very interesting and informative.
    Your pictures are very green. Not that that is the camera’s fault, I suspect.

    • Vince says:

      Visibility was down to about 500 yards and it was raining. Of course the fact I just got the thing this morning might be a factor also. I got a good deal. €200 off the ticket and a 16 GB sd with a nikon bag for free. Granted it’s a bit out of date having only 10mgpix. But really how many more could you need.

      • Michele says:

        You don’t need any more than 10. I just read an article about how people think more megapixels are better but it turns out that there is a breakpoint. Aperture is just as important. Sounds like you got a great deal. I’m thinking of buying a small point and shoot for blog photos and weekend jaunts. The big camera is just too much for that sort of thing and my phone is just not enough.

        • Vince says:

          Neah, it kinda depends how good you are at framing the shot. If from ‘click’ you’ve got it, then fine. But if you need to crop to get the best like with the flying Swans in one of the below posts, a few more MgPix is to the good.
          Me, I like to learn a thing the good way. I’ve found going that route allows much more freedoms later on. I need to learn and re-learn, but in a way that’s teases me, not swamps me. For I believe that’s mostly the real reason people don’t use their SLR’s.
          But OH MY, the speed and the focusing is a ruddy revelation.

  2. Kimberly says:

    That was freaking awesome. Loved the bad neighborhood part, and the drawings are great.
    Is that a new new camera or the one you’ve written about previously?

    • Kimberly says:

      Oops, missed your reply up above. Congrats!

    • Vince says:

      Yeah in general things are getting weird. But that MacWilliams is good for cutting the bull. And he makes it accessible.

      Yep a new one. I was so pissed off not being able to photograph the flight of the swans the other day that I was on line having a decko and spotted the deal.
      It will take a while to get used to this one.

  3. R. Sherman says:

    You had me at the Josey Wales (a fictional Missourian) quote.

    Query: Assuming the problem is “reckless speculation,” in everything from real estate to public bonds, the fix will inflate away any savings the prudent may have managed to squirrel away. For example, if the Greeks bring back the Drachma at a value which floats against other currencies, the value will plummet. Thus, any prudent Athenian who saved his money is suddenly taking a wheelbarrow full of cash to buy a bottle of Ouzo. Additional government does the same thing. Either way, it’s buying crap with today’s dollars and paying them back at very inflated future dollars.

    That’s the problem here: a combination of speculation in real estate combined with out of control spending. The savers are thus getting screwed.

    • Vince says:

      Savers are screwed one way or the other. They might as well directly invest.

      But the real question here is about historic insanity going back to vast transfers during the cold war causing profound distortions within local economies. And whether Otto in Oberammergau or Achilles in Athens neither have control. There was and are existing methods of dealing with this mess while preserving trade, bankruptcy. Except there is a fixation on a moral question.
      However with 25million people unemployed it is no longer a question of inflation or deflation but one of overvalue in the mid to higher areas.

  4. Kelly says:

    I really like the perspective on several of these shots. Looks like a potential face-off between Jess and the cow.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, the heifer is a Friesian + Angus( I know it should be a upper ‘X’ but it looked wrong). The combo makes them placid but fearless. Frankly the dog is the only cause for danger to me in the field for the cattle will chase her.

      On the photos. I really wanted to see them come out ok, and they are reasonable. A bit flat, but the mist whitened things. But they’re far better than the other in such conditions.
      Actually I’m still masochistic enough to enjoy a learning curve.

  5. Shrinky says:

    Jeez, finally, something put in simple layman terms I can make a little sense out of. I don’t know if I necessarily agree with the entire argument, but I at least feel in a slightly better place to opine on it – thanks, Vince.

    Oooh, a new full bells and whistles camera, eh? What fun!, Yeah, the lighting makes a world of difference as to how things come out. I usually cheat on all I shoot by running what’s salvageable through Photoshop – it’s amazing how many of my pig’s ear’s can be transformed into silk purses (wink). Have fun.

  6. Shrinky says:

    I’m sure you could support both your photo’s and the software on your laptop Vince, I’m telling ya’, it’s a fabulous toy to have play with, but then, I’m still in wonder of it, so catch myself in danger of harping on to anyone who will listen!

    Just off to check out the link.. (cheers)

    • Vince says:

      The laptop or Photoshop ?.

      With me I find the PC better when I’m fiddling with something. I find the laptop somewhat cluttering and if I’m honest claustrophobic. And I know I can rig it to the PC monitor but it’s still sorta corseted, finger-wise.
      But mostly it’s like my egg frying pan.

      What’s photoshop like nowadays anyway. Does it still require a month of full time efforts.

  7. sage says:

    It is always interesting to hear politics from another area and to have it presented by such a clever method is entertaining…

    • Vince says:

      With what we are going through right now it really behooves us to keep a good grasp on events. Of course the problem there is finding good analysis.

  8. Rebecca S. says:

    I heard the G8 summit at Camp David is very much about trying to discuss something for Europe other than austerity, since the general public opinion is so against it. Love the vid. It reminded me of the great videos done on education by Sir Ken Robinson, in the same draw as you speak format. I love that because I’m such a visual learner. Thanks for sharing 🙂 Jess is enjoying blossom time, eh?

Comments are closed.