A very odd April

This April is about six weeks ahead of the usual. April is always psychotic in that you can step out in a t-shirt and by the time you’ve rounded a corner a wind has risen that would refreeze the ice-cream you ate last week. Or my favorite, a shower of rain WITHOUT A CLOUD IN THE SKY. Not BTW a few drops, nopey-no, this would be a full-blown soak-you shower.

I sit under the Jet-Stream. What’s understood about this phenomenon and that’s not much, might best be described as like a pool cue driven through not quite tight racked balls. But we’re normalized to this chaos. Normalized mostly because the jet-stream tick-tacks it’s intentions about a fortnight ahead much like the snooker player drawing back his arm to give a really good clout. So even within the chaos there is a degree of predictability. This year not so much. We’ve – so far – had a sort of Paris in May type of month. And while not a sit under the cherry trees watching the blossom, nonetheless we’ve had June’s far worse. 

This entry was posted in comment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A very odd April

  1. Michele says:

    Glad to hear that you’ve had a nice spring so far. We’ve been having cooler and drier weather than usual. We are just waiting for the shoe to drop. Then we’ll be back to hot and humid.

    • Vince says:

      Yes, Me too. It really could have been so much worse.

      Frankly, I’m not certain if you are complaining or rejoicing.

  2. R. Sherman says:

    Fortunately, our Spring hasn’t been bad so far either. I’m afraid we’re going to get the tornado pounding next month, though.

    BTW, great photos as always.

    Cheers.

    • Vince says:

      Thanks R. I really must read more about those storms of yours. What I know is thin, mostly around TV films and such.

  3. Kelly says:

    This is a beautiful collection of photos!

    • Vince says:

      Thanks Kelly. I must do you method at some point where you post just one. For myself I must become more critical but at the moment since I’m posting soon after taking the shot I’m seeing the reality not the photo.

  4. Rebecca S. says:

    Really lovely photos today, Vince. I especially like the one of Jess’ head. It is such that I could reach out and pet her. Our April is beautiful too, though ours is often a schizophrenic month full of changes and wind and hot momentary sunshine followed by warmish rain. Today I will be working out at the tulip festival in the rain, but that’s okay, I’ve got my wellies and running cap to keep the rain out.
    Cheers!
    P.S. I’d like to take a hike up that mountain of yours and see the quilted landscape far below. Stunning.

    • Vince says:

      Whimsey, that was why I took the shot over the dogs head. She so loves being up there where she can run and run and run.
      How’s that festival going for you.

      • Rebecca S. says:

        The festival is going very well. Good weather apart from one stormy and very cold day. The girls and I are about to head out for the day. My mouth hurt last night from smiling and being welcoming and informative! Today is going to be very, very busy due to good weather and the second to last day of the festival for the year.
        By the way, the comment you left saying ‘this thing isn’t working’ on my latest post, in fact, worked. Try again?

        • Vince says:

          Yeah that one did. But by that point I’d written about seven comments that were swallowed. That that one took even made me more hacked off.
          Glad things are going well. They say Vaseline on the gums and teeth keeps the lips from that pain of smiling. It’s an old Irish dancing and pagent trick
          Of course 😐 if I was a sarcastic little sod I’d say ‘get more practice in over the year’.

          • Rebecca S. says:

            Okay, thanks for getting back to me, and too bad about the comments! That’s a royal pain when that happens.
            Oh, and very funny. I’ll have you know I’m a very smiling sort! But even I have my limits. 🙂

  5. Shrinky says:

    “..might best be described as like a pool cue driven through not quite tight racked balls.” Oh Vince, I so love how you write! Aye, it’s been a bit that way over here, these past couple of days, too – shame, I had given hubby a promise for a day out together walking tomorrow, but only if the forecast proved favourable, which it isn’t. He’s gonna’ have to just settle for taking me out for a pub-lunch, instead (evil grin)..

    • Vince says:

      You have a 2000 footer, a cousin to the one over the water. That’ld knock the kinks out right enough.

      I think that by the weekend ’twill have improved.

  6. Kimberly says:

    Gorgeous shots and I too like that photo of Jess looking out over the landscape. Fall is my favorite season, but spring is right up there with all the blooming trees. So pretty!
    Our weather has been wacky too this year. Barely any winter, snow in the mountains around us a week and a half ago, 100+ a week ago, and right now humid and cloudy with thunderstorms. It’s hard to know how to get dressed every morning.

    • Vince says:

      Frankly, like with Michele down in Texas, I don’t know what to say.
      Right-o, here goes. Anytime I’ve been to a warm country and it’s been humid I feel I’m about to give up the ghost. A wrung out dishrag, it’s just not funny. I’ve been on beaches with bare arsed women walking about in their pelt and they might as well be trees for all the care I give them. It’s just too too too TOO much effort. The idea of an antebellum ‘in the heat of the night’ sweaty contact would be exhausting.
      Dry heat on the other hand I can thrive in. So when both of you write humidity and anything above 22 degrees Celsius I think hell.

      • Michele says:

        My husband thinks the same way about the heat and humidity.

        • Kimberly says:

          Me three! Luckily for us the humidity is rare in SoCal. In fact, when it’s over 100 we find ourselves saying, “Well, at least it’s a dry heat!”. So when we do have those muggy days we are miserable. I would venture a guess that you’ve got higher humidity with all the rain you get? Minus the scorching heat of course.

  7. Pearl says:

    Come to Minnesota, please, where Mother Natures tries to kill you, in earnest, seven months out of the year.

    We’re a sturdy but sometimes surprisingly stupid folk. 🙂

    Pearl

  8. Crystal says:

    You have interesting weather where you live. I think I would enjoy the variety. And rain from a cloudless sky? Miraculous! 🙂 Tucson is getting hotter by the second. I ran 11 miles on Saturday in prep for my half marathon. It was 90 degrees. I got heat exhaustion and was ill for the remainder of the day. Not fun. My race is in Prescott, Az where temps are cooler.

    My favorite photo was of the lovely pink flowers. So pretty. 🙂

    • Vince says:

      Enjoy ?. Hmm perhaps, but I far prefer variety with a bit more sun.

      Running in the Tucson heat is I expect something that needs constant monitoring. Even to the point where you could over water, as much as under water, washing salts out.

      The pink is Clematis montana ‘Rubra’. You don’t really do pink in your light unless of course there is acres of it.

Comments are closed.