From the Seas to the Mountains

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in comment. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to From the Seas to the Mountains

  1. Michele says:

    Looks like Jess was having as much fun at the ocean as Nessa did at the Gulf of Mexico.

  2. Vince says:

    Yes, she had a ball. I’ve a few short videos, about 50sec or so. But they are taking the earth to upload them to u-tube

  3. Kimberly says:

    Jess looks pooped! The 6th photo down on the right, where the fog sits in the mountain’s V, is very pretty. Was this all in one day?

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, she was. She developed a limp at the end of the day. But it was one that came and went.
      Yes all the one day. The water you see on the mountain enters the sea in the bay where Jess is sitting by my stick. I suppose I should have mentioned in the body. But the Falls are named Mahon Falls and the bay Bunmahon.
      The river is the Mahon. Bun is the ‘bottom of’. I mention only as Falls are mostly called for man.
      It takes about an hour to get to the coast. Well, if I only hit the road in spots I can do it in just the 60min. And the Falls a little less. But both are a nice day out. And I hoped it would shake whatever was ailing Jessy.

      • Vince says:

        Oh, not a fog, but a cloud. And if you look closer you’ll see people high up.

      • Kimberly says:

        Glad you told where…I was curious. Hope the outing made Jess feel better. That photo of her tied to the stick is kind of funny. She looks like she’s saying, “Ahhh, come on dad, I wanna go play.” 😉

        • Vince says:

          I had to make certain that beach was empty, or relatively so anyway, before I let her run free. She’s grand at the other cove, there’s never/rarely ever any kids. While she’s OK with kids I want her within earshot, just in case.
          She shivers. Actually shivers with anticipation. She does the same when she sees me prepping for a walk at home.

  4. Crystal says:

    Jess is such a beauty. I love the photos featuring her the most. But every picture was simultaneously breathtaking and calming. The world is a majestic and awesome place. You capture it well.

    • Vince says:

      Thank you. And yes she’s a looker. I don’t know if capture is correct, seems to imply an ownership. I like reflect, more man-made somehow.

  5. Ed says:

    One thing I would love about living on your island is the diversity in landscape. We have diversity but not close enough you could notice it in just one afternoon’s walk.

    • Vince says:

      Yes. When I lived in London and the SE England you had to go one hell of a distance to get that mix. But we’re lucky. Still not an afternoons walk though. There is a drive between of about 30 miles.

  6. Shrinky says:

    Your Jess reminds me of my Bessie, the most gentle, finest companion I’ve ever had. Border Collies are smart, but I swear that girl was a genius, she trained me really well. She had a litter in her early days, and both my sister’s claimed a pup each. She’s been gone over fifteen years now, and yet still I can’t see another collie without thinking of her.

    You certainly reside in a fine, ragged and majestic isle, and your camera has a great done it great justice here – I love how you’ve managed to convey the stark, powerful beauty of it all.

    • Vince says:

      I believe her to be half sheepdog and greyhound. And smart, she has more smarts that a kid of seven. Frankly I’m going to have to get a pup soon. I tried last year with a grown dog but it didn’t take. I’ll wait til after Christmas. Then the xmas puppies will need a good home.

  7. Shrinky says:

    I am right in thinking Jess is a Border Collie cross? Forgive me if I’m mistaken.

  8. R. Sherman says:

    Good, good stuff.

    Cheers.

  9. Hulabuns says:

    Beautiful pictures! Looks like you’re keeping Jess busy. 🙂 Hope all is well friend.

  10. Kelly says:

    These photos are stunning, Vince. I’m always captivated by shots of Jess, but combining her with this landscape is outstanding!

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, but they’d be better if she didn’t look anyplace else once a camera is pointed at her.

  11. sage says:

    I need to see more of your country–beautiful photos, Vince.

  12. Rebecca S. says:

    Such a craggy looking place – would be desolate without the water and greenery. I liked the rock that seems to be a ‘thumbs up’. Thanks for the photo journey 🙂

    • Vince says:

      It’s pretty darn desolate as it is. I was giving a new camera a test run to see how it would treat the odd conditions. And I have to say it did well.

Comments are closed.