A big Ouchy-Owie

I’ve trained the dog to get up on the lazyboy when my mother enters the house so she doesn’t dance with delight all around her legs causing her to fall. This is a win for the dog.  She is higher and from the arm of the chair is at chest level to get hugs. This morning when my mother entered the hound leaped to the chair, missed, and grasped with her paws, ending in a heap on the floor below the chair-arm. In the mêlée she split her toenail right into the quick. I mean really torn the nail asunder. She somehow split it downwards and back halving it along a mid-line. The spall hadn’t torn totally so the poor thing was in agony any time she put her paw to ground.   Years ago I read that super-glue is the thing when this happens as it creates a solid nail again. And it worked, eventually. Allowing me to use the nail clippers to remove most of the broken nail with one swift pinch. I had treats ready, but for the first time ever she had little interest in them. She was on my bed for the day nursing herself, with me dipping her toe into iodine every few hours. The little brat knew she wouldn’t be scolded from the bed like normal.  Later, we went for a short walk and she was OK  ’til about one hundred yards for home when she developed a bit of a limp. All in all, I think she’ll be fine.

This entry was posted in comment. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A big Ouchy-Owie

  1. Michele says:

    Poor baby. She’ll soak that bed time for as long as she can I’m sure. My pup would.

    • Vince says:

      She is a bit more touchy-feely than normal, but she seems happier on the bed than my lap. She just comes out to touch base, then back.

  2. Kelly says:

    Bless her little heart! Good thinking with the super glue – not sure I would have thought of that.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah poor little scamp. I felt the pain of it myself.
      I remember reading that when a horse split a hoof the blacksmith would tar the crack. And I read some place about the super glue, but for the life of me I cannot remember precisely where. I may well remember tomorrow, or not.

  3. Kimberly says:

    Ahhhh, those split nails are so sensitve too. Poor thing. I’m glad to hear the super glue worked. Seems like that was just as successful as a trip to the vet. She’ll be good as new in a few, especially if she gets to rest on the bed! 🙂

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, I remembered about your fellow. As to the vet, they charge as if the entire place is filled full of people with a bank balance of a bankable Hollywood actor. Darn scavengers.

  4. Rebecca S. says:

    Sounds like effective first aid! Poor little pooch, (though she might be thinking the free time on the bed was worth it). Please give her a pat-pat for me.

    • Vince says:

      Well, so far anyway it’s been effective enough. On the bed thing, she headed in that direction without any direction. She just decided.

  5. Crystal says:

    It is a sad day indeed when treats don’t do the trick. At least she got to cuddle in your bed without a scolding. I’m sure it did wonders to help her heal faster. Poor baby! I had never heard that super glue would help in such an instance. You were very clever to use it on her. I will have to keep that in mind. My own dog is getting on in years and is having a much harder time jumping to the couch. She often can’t and becomes discouraged. And sometime she almost makes it but falls off. It’s hard to watch her age like this. But she is still a puppy at heart. She never ceases smiling. 🙂

    • Vince says:

      I don’t know how clever it is. Don’t you women do something like it when you split a nail ?.

      It’s time to get another one it will put energy in the current one and it will ease the passing that will happen. I think that’s the hardest thing about caring for a dog, the knowing you will outlive them.
      And I don’t think that has been a morning since I got her that I don’t smile from the instant I see her. I suspect that’s the same with most pet carers.

  6. Sage says:

    Good thinking about the superglue. I thought at first the story was going along this line: she caught her nail in the lazyboy and ripped it?

    • Vince says:

      Oh I stopped worrying about floors and furniture about a week in from the day I got her. Once she came in from a walk muddy to the eyeballs for the tenth time I knew being in anyway house-proud was a fight with no win.

  7. R. Sherman says:

    I winced reading this. Poor dog. I hope it’s on the mend.

    Cheers.

    • Vince says:

      I can tell you I winced myself when I saw the damage. I’m bathing it in disinfectant as it’s an open wound. And it’s still sore. But she hasn’t slowed much if any, bar that first day.

Comments are closed.