1st of Spring

Today I was at the regional hospital with my mother. She was getting her eyes examined. She’s OK, but has to re-visit in a few months. While she awaited the quack I went down the coast to Dunmore East (An Dun More). These are some shots of the dawn across to Hook Head. Those that encountered the phrase ‘By Hook or By Crook’ meaning you’ll be caught no matter which way you turn. Well, this is the Hook of the phrase. The Light is the oldest lighthouse still on the original site on these islands.  (right-click into a new tab, then resize)

The hand is the East Wind cold blunt fret hand of the Author.

This entry was posted in comment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 1st of Spring

  1. Ed says:

    Excellent pictures as always.

    If I went down to the ocean coast while my mom was seeing the eye doctor, she might die of starvation before I return.

    • Vince says:

      Wow, you got that comment in before I’d finished the edit :-D. And yeah, getting up and down for you would be a chore right enough.

  2. Rebecca S. says:

    Stunning photos, Vince! The morning light is always wonderful though, isn’t it?
    Your hand does look raw in the cold.
    One question, though….how can food be served at the lovely Strand ‘all day’ if it is only served from ‘1-9’? Teehee.
    Nice post! I still have to make my way through your last very academic sounding post. I’ll get there, but I need a coffee first to wake up me brain.
    Rebecca

    • Vince says:

      Yes it was utterly lovely. And it was a raw morning right enough, but all the better for that. You had contrast.

      And I thought the pub was stark in it’s bleakness. But the funny thing was the heaters over the windows put there for the huge population of smokers. And I expect the ships lantern is Red to contrast the blue of the paint. The place might be blue but when open I expect it lights up on NASA so red would be the heat signature.

  3. Wow. It’s so incredibly gorgeous there!!

  4. Kelly says:

    You know my favorite shot has to be the one with Jess dashing along the beach, though the two following are pretty spectacular with their sunbeams reaching through the clouds.

    • Vince says:

      I have a few more of her from this morning that I might post later on. I just have to figure a way to em=biggen the thumb for you cannot see and you are depending on memory. It’s like going back to the days of those eye-pieces for picking slides, and that’s downright ridiculous.

  5. Kimberly says:

    hahaha – Ed’s comment made me laugh.
    Brrrrr, it looks cold and wonderful. Those photos of the rays of sun are simply amazing. I am having deja vu looking at the Strand Inn Hotel. The photo is jogging a memory of when I spent the summer in your gorgeous country after college, but I can’t put my finger on why. I’ll have to dig through my photo albums as digital photography hadn’t yet come to the masses in ’95.

    • Vincent says:

      I have the chore sometime of scanning and digitising all mine. The thing is I could have done it in the 90’s, had them on disc, which would now be outmoded.

      Where were you based when you were over here.

      And by the hokey it was brass monkeys that morning.

      • Kimberly says:

        We weren’t really based anywhere for too long. We did a lot of traveling; driving or busing somewhere for a few days before moving on. Off the top of my head, from Dublin we stopped in Kilkenny, Waterford, Cork, Killarney, Limerick, Doolin, Galway, Drumcliffe, Donegal, and I can’t remember where we stayed between Donegal and heading back to Dublin – would that be a logical loop? The trip was about a month and included a few days jaunt over to London and then back before heading home. It’s funny because London is a city I like to visit a lot, but when we returned to Dublin and were picked up by the same cab driver who took us to the airport (we couldn’t believe that he’d actually be waiting for us when we arrived after simply telling him the time we were returning – that would NEVER have happened at LAX) there was such a relaxed feeling being back there. Awwww, what a wonderful trip it was!

        Having all those “old” photos scanned onto the computer would be so much nicer and easier to find than having them in boxes or albums, but what an undertaking that would be…maybe some day.

        • Vince says:

          I wondered if you’d done that travelling visa that students can get where they can stay and work for six months. I met a few that did that.

          The taxi situation was nuts. Two years later they opened the licensing so now we’ve more taxi’s that we need. A good situation really. When you met that taxi, for the city&county of Dublin there was only 200 cabs that could trade as taxi’s. And a taxi plate went for $200,000. Basically the license itself became property.

          • Kimberly says:

            Even more surprising then being picked up by the same driver. Probably my only regret is that I didn’t live abroad after college before having to be a grown up.

  6. Sage says:

    Nice photos–I left Ireland and the British Isle wanting to see more, not of London or even Dublin, but of the coast and the hillsides. Glad your mother is okay.

    • Vince says:

      Thanks fella. Yeah the landscape is lovely right enough. Of course that everything is all over the place in both Dublin and London can be a bit annoying.

  7. Crystal says:

    I adore the last photo of the bunch. The beams of sunshine coming through the clouds are inspiring and happy. They speak of the light of truth and the light of joy and love of God. Beautiful.

    I wish I could have been there to witness the beauty first hand.

    You are quite talented, Vince. 🙂

  8. R. Sherman says:

    Lovely, as always.

    Cheers.

Comments are closed.