Past black monday

Dancing on ice is a programme on the BBC every winter. This show has become tedious. Early on, five or so years ago, they had celebrities who on ice looked much like a newborn foal. Who had ultimate catastrophes, not just falling on their butt, but wiping out and using their chin and undercroft of teeth as a brake. And seeing the pro’ spin a zed-lister like a golf club. Well, no matter how kind you are in general, you cannot help but be on the edge of the seat with a degree of glee glinting in your eye. Now they’ve ruined it. They are just too darn good starting off. They actually think we give a hoot about the quality of their ice work.

This year Santa brought me a keyboard. He heard Rebecca and made certain it was one with keys that played soft and loud. But it has what I want which is a basic piano, but with a ream of other sounds some fun, some useless. Bells, for instance. Who gives a crap about campanology. But why the heck I didn’t get this instead of the guitar last year is totally beyond me. Now I’m not saying it’s easy, but it certainly is clearer to read. And I don’t have to transcribe into tab to make some sense out of the fingering. But now I’ve to train my hands and eyes to see two lines and play both. Middle ‘C’ isn’t on any stave; seems an error. But I expect that will be the very least of the issues I’ll encounter later on.  Anyhooos, I can belt out all the tunes I learnt on the guitar and am training my eye to the stave with those the sounds I know already. Exactly why I’m on this road. Putting in about an hour a day. I’m totally in a mist. Sometimes it clears and I can see a goal but mostly it’s just fun to hear sounds that are for the most part real caused by my hand. And I’m making use of an ironing board as a stand giving it its first ever function since the day ’twas bought. I’m not really one of natures ironers.

I really don’t know if I should mark the keys with their notes, C, B# and so forth. Instinct is telling me no. But might be an error.

This entry was posted in Blogroll, comment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Past black monday

  1. Michele says:

    I’m not sure I even own and ironing board. I intentionally buy clothes that don’t need to be ironed. Good thing I don’t plan to get a keyboard. Cool that you can play it. I’d have all the dogs in the neighborhood baying.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, me also. When I need something with a suit I buy a few. And it was a bit of a shock that it came relatively easily. And with the right hand too !!!!.

  2. Rebecca S. says:

    Yes, part of the appeal of shows like that is to see everyone at their beginning, foal like as you say – and then watch them, week to week get better and better. It isn’t much like ‘reality’ television if they are all great to begin with, is it?

    So you got a keyboard. That’s fantastic, and I’m glad you are enjoying it. Keep plugging away and that mist will begin to evaporate for sure. I love that the ironing board is serving as the stand, too. Brilliant 🙂

    • Vince says:

      look at the prices here and you’ll understand why the keyboard and not the digital piano http://www.waltons.ie/Product/Search.aspx?cid=89 I was shocked at the prices. And spending that amount for what mightn’t workout, I couldn’t justify.
      Well, the Ironing board came in handy for it moved lower than the table. It’s still to high. But ’twill do for now, seen as I forgot to buy the stand when I bought the instrument. But I was kicking my self for a day ’til I remembered the i-board could lower.

  3. Kimberly says:

    Wow! You’re going to be able to start your own band soon. :). Have you always been so musically inclined, or is this more a recent endeavor? Congrats on the ease of it!

    • Vince says:

      I had the mandatory Irish encounter with the tin-whistle at about seven. On or about the same day that I was counting 1-2-3-4-5-6-7; 1-2-3; 1-2-3.

      It not so much that it’s been easy, as I know how I learn, nowadays. I knew when to let things be for a while, and when to flog myself into something. Sometimes it’s a head thing.

      • Kimberly says:

        I misused “ease” as I am sure it’s not easy, for anyone. Should have said grasp or understanding instead of undermining your achievement with ease . I can’t wrap my mind around learning an instrument as an adult because of how hard it was for me as a kid. Becoming skilled at not just one, but two instruments is remarkable in my opinion. So congrats on THAT!
        Will you continue with the guitar at the same time?

        • Vince says:

          Totally, I’ll continue with the guitar. I might go with the Classical one. And I got what you meant by ease. But I needed to explain also. You see what I really want is to listen to a phrase played on anything and say the notes contained in it, the way you sound out the letters in a word. I cannot do that with the guitar, at least not with ease.

          Oh, and skilled IS seriously over-egging the pudding.

  4. Kelly says:

    We had a short-lived show called “Skating with Celebrities”. Scandal cancelled it after one season. I’ll agree…it’s the ineptness that’s appealing in something like that. 🙂

    Good luck with the keyboard. I studied piano for many years though I was never a really good sight-reader. I did better once I got a piece “into my hands”.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, ineptness, that the word for it. Splat, might be another.

      Thanks, I’ll have a right good go at it anyway. And that’s exactly why I changed from the guitar for I was getting to the point of it ‘being in my hands’ but I couldn’t tell what note I was actually playing beyond fret 9 on the High ‘E’ string. It was doing my head in.

  5. Crystal says:

    I love to play the piano when I am stressed or down. It is such a relief to lose myself in music.

    I wouldn’t really suggest marking the keys. It might become a crutch. it’s better to just memorize the things.

    Your comment about middle c made me laugh.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, on the keys. It might be a bit like how I type. Watching the keyboard; because I’m reading it and then hitting the key rather than reading and hitting simultaneously

  6. R. Sherman says:

    I’ve never watched any talent show beyond the audition stages, simply because I don’t care who wins. I do enjoy seeing those actually believe they can sing or dance, but haven’t got a clue.

    Cheers.

    • Vince says:

      I can honestly say I catch those by accident only. Mind you I did happen to see SueBo and Paul Potts their first night out.

  7. Ed says:

    I long for the day when I can retire and spend my free time pursuing stuff like playing the guitar or piano. My life is just too hectic right now to learn them.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah But you’re basically a single parent. And I’ve neither kids or wife.

  8. Sage says:

    I have a photo of my daughter from the train with her violin and an ipad that has keys on it–she’s picking out the music of a favorite song and then playing it on the violin… Me, I stick to ironing.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, it seems I’m in need of a i-something or other right enough. My printer died three days after getting the keyboard so I’m writing out on a stave. And we’re no longer used to doing that level of scut work. And the laptop over the keys will only in the short term. Mind you these apple stuff is pricey.

Comments are closed.