Well, who-da thunk

A ship sunk, near as dammit anyway, having struck a rock. Well you’d have to say ‘shit happens’. But what I don’t get is how in this day and age a ship designed to carry huge numbers of tourists in conditions near maximum pampering could sink so rapidly. But most importantly, how in hell did a ship in calm seas lose anyone at all.

In the footage you can see some of the damage.

Now, given that the RMS Titanic was 700 miles off Newfoundland smack in the middle of the Labrador Current. You have to wonder how any survived. But here and now since the people could pretty much have stepped off had the skipper the brain to turn to land I fully expect that there will be an enquiry. And I fully expect that the Skipper isn’t as fault filled as it seems at the moment. For the truth today is control of shipping sits in an office far from water and the nominal Captain has as much true control as a fellow driving a train.

Update; It would seem that the Captain under Italian Maritime Laws has a case to answer for desertion of his post and allowing the passengers to find their own way as best they could to safety. There is a tape where the coast guard of the Italian State ordered the captain to assume his post at the bow evacuation ladder and this fellow refused.

This entry was posted in comment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Well, who-da thunk

  1. Kelly says:

    I may not be fully aware of all the circumstances, but it seems the ship had just set sail and passengers had not yet been given any of the “emergency talks”. Once it listed to the side I’m sure panic set in and we know what panic can do to a large group of people.

    Did I hear the captain left the ship before he should have?

    • Vince says:

      It was passing through a Strait and deviated it course to pass nearby the island with the intention of giving the tourists a spectacular closeup of the island. Note the gash on it side is away from the island. This points to the validity of the Captains story of hitting a uncharted rocky upthrust.
      They have arrested the man. But I hadn’t heard that he left the ship before he should. Very hard to measure that anyway. I sure as hell wouldn’t go down with the ship, would you.

  2. Kimberly says:

    That is quite a story isn’t it? I’ve always wondered too about “incidents” on the modern cruise ships. They are SO big that it’s a wonder how they even get into circumstances like this. I also felt the same way last year when the Carnival cruise got stuck off the coast of Mexico. http://abcnews.go.com/Travel/carnival-splendor-cruise-ship-rescue/story?id=12095096
    These people spent days on a ship without power waiting to be towed a distance that I could have driven in a couple of hours. It’s just weird. But I guess with all advanced technology and conveniences aboard, when it goes wrong it goes horribly wrong.

    • Vince says:

      A few years ago my Ex-GF was on a ship whose sister-ship turned turtle down in the Antarctic. That year her ship had serious issues with safety. Such that the owners went bankrupt rather than refit.
      But there isn’t a year going by that you don’t hear deaths that charitably you’d call unexplained but most certainly are murder.

      Any fire at sea is dangerous. A fire that takes three hours to get under control is one where she should be abandoned. There are only one type of ship that this mightn’t happen and that would be Navy vessels of the surface fleet. The thing with a ships fire you not only have the very real problem with the fire but on top you have the danger of capsizing because her trim and ballast will be off kilter.
      But this is very big business these days. Take that Carnival Splendour Cruise. It had 4,500 passengers @ say $3,500 =$15,750,000 for a 10 day pooter about. She will have three a month for five months, or $236,250,000. And that’s just one ship. And she may cross giving a full eleven month year at $500 plus million a year. Not bad going eh.

  3. Crystal says:

    How awful! I have always been terrified of the ocean. My fear doesn’t cripple me. I can talk to myself logically and I went on a cruise 2 years ago. I have also swum in the ocean many times. But every terrible nightmare I have involves the ocean and sharks. I don’t know why.

    What a sad tragedy for the families of these people. And can you imagine the horror of knowing you will soon drown? Ugh!

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, I sorta forget that lots of people live a good distance from the sea. Here in Europe, I would say most have been on some sort of sea trip in the last five years. Be that ferry, jetfoil or this thing http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-speed_craft
      But where you leap and gambol over rocks and sedges that are from my point of view are ALIVE with snakes. You don’t really think about them much at all. It is the same with sea travel, mostly.

  4. Ed says:

    What amazed me more than this happening was the aftermath on-board that was almost straight from the story of the titanic. People fighting to get on boats, others jumping in water and still others who evidently couldn’t find a way out.

    I’ve never ridden on one of those behemoths nor have I ever desired too. Stuff like this only strengthens my resolve to just avoid them altogether.

    • Vince says:

      I don’t think you ride them, Ed. But might-be one does. Still, sail doesn’t work either. I don”t really know the correct terminology.
      As to the similarities with Titanic, they are truly stark.

  5. Michele says:

    We are not cruise ship people but know of plenty of have gone on them. I read that the captain left before all the passengers were accounted for. That is a major no-no in the captaining industry from what I hear. It will be interesting to see ha=ow it all falls out.

    • Vince says:

      On the no-no, that seems one for skippers in the tradition of Odysseus. But I will say this the poor fellow is being hung out to dry by his employers. They have five other ships exactly like this one they need filling so are acting without kindness to this fellow. I suspect his Scylla and Charybdis will be far from the sea.

  6. R. Sherman says:

    They’re saying he left early, leaving no one in charge of the evacuation. Of course, truth remains to be seen. If he did take a powder, that’s more significant than hitting an uncharted rock.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, they are saying a lot about that guy. And all without ANY, that I can see, investigation.
      But true enough, it would be significant if he hasn’t a good tale to tell.

  7. It might be ‘this day and age’ but in my experience there are still idiots everywhere who remain mystified when things go wrong. Technology has not made those people go away. Most of the IT experts seem in that catagory, can’t understand why it doesn’t work, can’t fix it, and have to apply remedies finally which are not different in principle than giving it a good kick.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah-nodding my head-, that’s sure true. What I’m not so sure about is that it’s confined to the IT experts.

  8. R. Sherman says:

    The Italian Coast Guard transcripts are pretty damning, it seems.

    Cheers.

Comments are closed.