New Years Day

I didn’t really think I’d get up any mountains until about late February or even March. I mentioned something like this on a post about my last trip up the nearby mountain. This must have set a little fly-wheel in motion as most mornings that time-wise it could be managed, I have kept a lookout on the weather.  Imaging my surprise when things cleared over the summit and beyond about sunrise giving me the window to get going. I know that last statement reads like I’m hitting the north face of the Eiger. But I have good reasons for not climbing her in wet conditions. Mostly they deal with basic safety and not wanting to call out the rescue people for some gormless git -me- that smashed his knee on stones that turned to glass once a film of water formed on them. It has also to do with not wanting to destroy the delicate eco-system of the blanket-bog.

The photo with the sticks give one some notion of the size of the cairn.  It is clearly visible from twenty miles sitting like it does. And if you right-click and open in a new tab you by-pass that really annoying photo viewer that is squatting in our browsers these days. Opps, right-click then click the numbers marking the sizing.  Or maybe not.

Happy New Year everyone.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Years Day

  1. Kelly says:

    What fantastic views in these photos – they’re beautiful!

    It’s almost a bit like “Where’s Waldo” looking to see which shots have Jess in them. 🙂 She and her shadow are quite cute in your header.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, she’s in one where she’s a good distance out. And of course she’s running with her all black side on. Honestly I thought she had vanished when I got to the top. I was blowing the whistle like a crazy man but she was nearby looking at me with a bit of worry. All that had happened was she had blended to the plants on the top and I was looking much further out than where she was actually cruising.

  2. Kimberly says:

    It seems as if your day one of the new year was quite nice. That first shot is so pretty. What is the elevation? I remember being fascinated by all those dry stone walls you’ve got there.

  3. R. Sherman says:

    As always, nicely done. We’ve got gale force winds today which would be a little dicey on a summit.

    Cheers.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah tiz a bit on the windy side over here also. It;s funny odd though. While I was going up I though to myself that it wasn’t much colder than last time but when I got to the ridge. Oh boyo, did the temp’ fall like a stone. I was then glad I had on the l-j’s and the snow boarding pants. And I wished I had one of those neck tubes

  4. Jen says:

    Beautiful photos as usual. Makes me a little sad that I’m far from any mountains. It’s at least 4 hours to drive to the closest range. Ah well, can’t have everything.

    Happy New Year!

    • Vince says:

      Thanks and right back at ya. How’s the kid doing on her own ?.
      And haven’t you the hill country near by you. Aren’t you on that side of the city. Surely they have good trails up there.

  5. Crystal says:

    Happy New year to you, Vince! Great photos, as usual. 🙂 You are so very wise to not be like so many silly men that WOULD have hiked the dangerous terrain and ended up having to call other men to save them from their sins. 🙂

    • Vince says:

      Thanks Crystal. And I don’t think hubris and stupidity are sins exactly. Flaw/s certainly. And and, I don’t think sagacity came into it :-), only the embarrassment having to be winched up into the belly of a coast guard Sikorsky. Because that’s exactly what they would do.

  6. How incredibly beautiful – I’m glad the weather indulged you!

  7. jenn says:

    I love the mountains. Your photos are stunning.

Comments are closed.