Oddness and Difference

I mentioned earlier that the English language is fraught with traps, snares and pitfalls for those that speak it within a well-defined local area. It is, simultaneously, the widest spoken geographically in a global context and with words still in everyday use which would have gone into the linguistic death of ‘Middle’ in other language.  All which lead to huge misunderstandings. It’s actually a wonder that more wars aren’t in train over some slight between native speakers. I suppose it goes to show we’ve more sense of humour than the average bear.  Hmm, what’s the collective for bears. Pack seems wrong. Hold up a mo, I’ll try wiki. Double HMMMM, sleuth of bears or a sloth of bears. Nah, those are just wrong.  Anyhow, much of the differences in the speech comes from the small orientations within everyday contacts.    One of the more striking from this side of the Atlantic is when an American says “Have a nice day”, we will say “Good luck” as the adieu on departure. One has that glass half full feel to it while the other, well, doesn’t. We being the Irish and those in the UK. And Americans mostly from the west coast. But why get bogged down. We with the ‘good luck‘ are actually truncating the wish for ‘you’ll need it‘ is aspirated.

I’m going with a Turkey crown for the Christmas bird this year. A few weeks ago, I read that one can brine the thing into some sort of flavour one can stomach for three days. And not like always feed most of it to the hound. So’s the recipe I got will need tweaking. Well the reality is mine will have salt and water as does the original, from there it will depart. I’m going with Juniper berries with lemons and orange marmalade. And these days chillies seem part of any concoction. I’ll have a duck running in tandem though, just in case.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Oddness and Difference

  1. Michele says:

    Sometimes our email exchanges need further explanation but I love learning about the differences. I do worry about unintentionally offending though.

    The marmalade should counter-balance the spicy of the chilies nicely.

    • Vince says:

      I cannot help thinking there is a need for a sarcasm font. Definitely a wry font anyway. I tend to assume the good for that’s how I roll myself. If I’ve caused offence it’s totally unintentional. But if you’ve decided I’m a wry sarcastic little shit. I’d say thank you for my hero is Juvenal.

  2. Rebecca S. says:

    I was watching a Jamie Oliver Christmas special last night…he was making some dish with chilies, too. Yummy!

    A sleuth of bears? Bah! As far as the sarcasm font…I just assume you’ve got yours on all the time and it saves me a world of bother 🙂

    Cheers, Rebecca

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, sleuth my eye. You know I cannot remember a meal I’ve made with anything any of those TV chiefs put together. None of it. Not even something that was sourced but then went off on a tangent. They just don’t impart useful tips. Delia Smith on the other hand had at least one a week for ten years.
      And it’s best to go with the satire idea right enough.

  3. Kelly says:

    I’m not easily offended, so I’ve rarely taken issue with any comments left on my blog. I do know that on at least one occasion I had to explain myself later for a comment I left on another’s blog that was taken the wrong way. And yes, a sarcasm font would be ideal since that is so often conveyed through inflection.

    We reserve Turkey for our Thanksgiving table (along with goose) and even then rarely cook a whole bird. I’ve always heard brining makes it very moist.

    • Vince says:

      I’ve had to do the explaining thing a time or two. On the inflection of sarcasm. That’s true enough it is hard to convey. But part of it is the dawning also. However it doesn’t need to be cruel.
      I’m giving the brine a go right at this moment with a few skinned chicken breasts. Seems I’ve no juniper berries afterall. I may as well go with Bay leaf and have done with it.

  4. Kimberly says:

    Teaching English to little kids is the worst! There are so so many exceptions to the rules their heads just spin. I once heard someone say, “Oh thanks for reminding me to have a nice day. Otherwise I would have forgotten and had a bad one!” And that was said in sarcasm font! 🙂
    I’ve heard brining a turkey makes for a great bird. Haven’t tried it myself, but that’s the consensus. Or how about one of these
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turducken
    Hee hee!

    • Vince says:

      THAT unholy concoction is very ancient. In the past it was eaten by the English royals and it started with a Swan and ended with a Wren.
      It reminds me of a quote by Oscar Wilde when asked to describe fox hunting as being the unspeakable chasing the inedible.

  5. Crystal says:

    Your post made me chuckle. I may start saying “Good luck” in a foreboding tone from now on just to amuse myself.

    There is no collective for bears because they are lone wolves. Wolves come in packs though. Except for the lone ones, which can never be trusted.

    The best turkey I have ever eaten was deep fried by my husband and his brothers. They had marinated it in Coca Cola overnight. A delicious way to have a heart attack. 🙂

    • Vince says:

      Well you don’t need to sound the death knell, the word luck implies it. 😀
      What do you call all the Bears fishing up in Alaska. And what do you call the mother and cubs.
      I kinda half get the sloth reference for Koala bears.
      Deep fried turkey is like bar-b-cue, you need the weather for it. What is it anyway. A drum filled with sunflower oil over a few breeze blocks, fired by gas jet for applying tar paper. With the bird suspended on a butchers hook and a cross bar.

  6. R. Sherman says:

    Imagine being married to a German, for whom English is a second language.

    We have our regional differences here, too, which in many ways are as pronounced as those between us and our English cousins. As they say, variety is the spice of life.

    As for turkey breast, I recommend using a brine and then roasting on a rack above a pan filled with chicken stock, basting occasionally. Also, deboning it and pounding it flat, followed by rolling it up in a rice & sausage stuffing is good. Wrap the roll with the skin and baste occasionally. Internal temps should be 175 to 180 degrees Fahrenheit.

    Good luck.

    Cheers.

    • Vince says:

      Ha, I’d say with a fistfull of higher degrees your kids opening for getting away with ANYTHING is slim.
      They must have at different times tried it on, only to hit turbulence rather rapidly. It’ll take a few years under their belt for those stories to come out over some festive dinner.
      I brined a few chicken breasts and it worked pretty well. So, I’m deffo going that road. I think if anything it drew some of the pumped-in liquid from the flesh.
      They were a bit salty but that was because they are small and the so more surface area to actual volume.

      P.S. since I moved to WP. I getting a handful of spam a week. In itself not that bothersome for the spam-filter is good.

Comments are closed.