Last hike of the year

This morning I hiked to the summit of Slievenamon for what was probably the last time this year. She isn’t the highest mountain in Ireland but what she lacks in height she more than makes up for in steepness with a ft up for every ft forward over most of the distance. She is also rather unique, being the only fully independent peak. Where on three sides W E and N  she is 40 miles for the next and to the South about 20. For the most part the photos I have of Slievenamon are from the North about 5 miles away where the under peaks are visible. But when you see her for any respectable you can easily see where she came by her name.

Slievenamon is a compound noun. Broken up Slieve = Mountain, na is the designator for plural or genitive, and Mon =Woman. So the usual translation is Mountain of the women. Now I’ve always had difficulty with this as it is so vague. Place names are rarely vague in any language. I’ve a feeling that what we’ve got here is later cleaning up.

I mentioned that the view of the mountain from a distance gives it away why the female connection. Almost any angle you approach  she looks like a woman’s pert breast with the bronze age cairn as the nipple.  

This entry was posted in celtic, dogs, mountain. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Last hike of the year

  1. Sage says:

    On the Utah/AZ border there was a peak named “Molly’s Nipple.” I’m sure that was named long before feminism became so prominent (and it still isn’t very prominent in that polygamous zone)… Beautiful photos and I hope this isn’t your last hike of the year–unless you’re going by that old Celtic calendar. Otherwise, you have another month. As for me, deer hunting starts next week and it curtails my wanderings as I hate being in the woods with a bunch of hunters who just might mistake me or my dog for a deer.

    • Vince says:

      No it won’t be my last, far from it. But I expect Slievenamon might have to await ’til Zero12.
      Do they not have areas that are out of bounds to the gun brigade. I would have thought dropping a few trees on tracks would deny access except to feet. And do they not have some restrictions on what rounds you can use within an environment where you cannot see clear over the range of the shot. Don’t you have slugs for shotguns used to hunt deer and bear, but with an effective range down the a few hundred yards. Not measures in miles.
      You heard of the Council of Whitby. Have a read of the Ven Bede about it. The diehard’s that stuck with the lunar computus moved to the abbey at Mayo off the coast. Did you know my people are buried on Omey. 😀

  2. Kimberly says:

    It looks like a lovely day for a hike. Are you sure you are in Ireland? I thought it rained there ALL THE TIME! 🙂 That last photo is very pretty.

  3. Kelly says:

    What a lovely set of photos! I don’t think I’d ever noticed before that cute little white tip on the end of Jess’s tail.

    • Vince says:

      Ah yes, that tip. I would be lost sometimes if she did not have it. Once she heads into a thicket all you see is this tip going like a racingcar.

  4. R. Sherman says:

    Great photos! Your hound looks happy. I must spend two weeks trekking about your beautiful country.

    Can you camp at the top, BTW?

    Cheers.

    • Vince says:

      There would be little need. I was up and down in 2.5 hours. There was a ordinance survey post on top lighting the lime-light for about two years. It was a fixed datum that I think can be seen from Snowdon in Wales.

  5. Ed says:

    There seems to be a lot of mountains named after women’s anatomy. The pair that come to mind here in the US are the Grand Tetons. The only natural wonder I can think of named after male anatomy was on my boat trip down the Grand Canyon when a formation was aptly named Indian Dick.

  6. Michele says:

    Looks like a lovely day for a hike.

    • Vince says:

      Yep, a delightful day. But that mountain is cold on the warmest day in summer. When we get one.

Comments are closed.