Status quo ante bellum

Life has returned to normal after the experiment adding a playmate for Jessy ended yesterday. The dislike from the previous few days degenerated into outright war.  Bella ended up with a damaged ear throwing off enough blood that it looked like she was about to turn red. But it was just an ear. However, what decided the issue was when Bella decided to pass on her pain and ran towards the sports field barking furiously across the entire distance.  That field had at that moment a coterie of kids out doing their daily P.E. Luckily she arrived to an empty field for the kids had returned inside their classrooms. But she hadn’t responded in any way to my calls and whistles.

I could not have that. Nope, no way. I live too near that field and it would have been impossible to have certainty. Not am I one of those that keeps their dogs inside. I like them out running about.

Anyway, she was into the car and driven back to the rescue place within the hour; with me thinking things weren’t that bad every five of so miles. But coming to my senses and continuing the rest of the fifty mile trip.

Jess is back to her slightly neurotic normality. And I’m proud of her for displaying gumption and sticking up for herself whilst being bullied.

This entry was posted in dogs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Status quo ante bellum

  1. Kelly says:

    Awww. I’m sorry to hear that, but you did what you had to. At least you gave it a good try. I hope Bella soon finds a home where she can be queen of her realm. Meanwhile, I hope Jess soon forgives you for disrupting hers.

    • Vince says:

      Yes, there is sort of a point. I knew in my bones the day after I got her if I’m honest. But I said I’d leave it til next Saturday. Things change though.
      But Jess is fine. The cocky little madam.

  2. R. Sherman says:

    Sorry about the experiment. I hope you don’t stop trying. We always had multiple dogs and cats when I was growing up and they all got along albeit sometimes grudgingly.

    Cheers.

    • Vince says:

      Ah well, nothing ventured nothing gained as it were, eh. I think I need to get a younger one, without so much baggage.
      Did I read that the Cardinals won against Texas the other day ?.

  3. Michele says:

    We’ve never had a problem with dogs getting along no matter what their ages but I guess it depends on the dogs. Too bad your experiment didn’t work out. Better luck next time for both of you.

    • Vince says:

      If Jess wasn’t here. I would have kept Bella, I really took to her. All she needs is attention, but total attention.

  4. Kimberly says:

    Ahhh man! That’s too bad. Will you try again, or is Jess destined to be an only teenager?

    • Vince says:

      Yes I think I will. But next time I’ll go for a pup. At least much younger. They will have less mental baggage.

Comments are closed.