Bella

Enough is enough. When All the photos vanish simply because I happened to click on the google plus option; and the new interface is so darn awkward that you cannot do anything other than upload all again. Anyhows, I’d half decided to move months ago but was dithering.

 

Yesterday, I got a playmate for Jess. Bella is her name at the moment, but that might change. She is def-fun-ightly a city slicker for she had never encountered a barred gate and simply didn’t have a clue how to negotiate it.

I got her from the same rescue place I found Jessy. This one like Jess came up to me and licked the hand that I’d placed near the grill. But unlike Jess this one was barking at me at the same time. Looking at her then I knew there was a beauty under all the matting and the wall of stink. So when I got her home she was bounced into the wet room shower and washed four times. The brought the two for a walk with her on the lead for part of the way.

Jessy has a nose out of joint. Not too badly. But enough. I expect it will take a week before the pecking order has shaken out with Jess on top.Β  And while Bella is no ones pushover the pecking order is starting to assert itself already. So things can be quite peaceful.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Blogroll. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bella

  1. sage says:

    I have never liked blogger’s photos–it seems so hard to get them to show up in the text like I want–but I don’t want to have to learn a new program. Enjoy the dogs!

    • Vince says:

      What I never got with blogger was how some people had the photos almost professionally placed. While I had to hope it would be kind enough to accept them at all. Neatness of design was a forlorn hope. 😦

  2. Kimberly says:

    Ohhhhhhh! She is soooo great! What is her breed…border collie? I can imagine how an only child would react to a new addition. They’ll work it all out like dogs do. Enjoy!
    PS – I like the changing photo thingy.

    • Vince says:

      Yes, I believe she is a Border Collie. And Only Child my arse, she -Jess- is like a fractious teen. While I do think once I get the hang of this w-press it will be vastly easier. Easier on the blood pressure anyway.

  3. Ed says:

    I made the switch and added this place to my bar. I guess I haven’t been too concerned with the photos as I just place them smack dab in the middle. Someday I have wanted to buy my own web space are carve out my little fiefdom but for now, I am content to let Blogger reign over me.

    • Vince says:

      Thanks Ed.

      My move is the culmination of a whole heap of annoying little niggles, only capped with this loss. That I was wrong is immaterial. The fault actually lay with my security program, Kaspersky. But it was just the nudge I required.
      Plus I hate any shower that have notions of themselves that ever require that one should ‘submit’ anything. What’s wrong with ‘publish’ or ‘reply’ FGS.

  4. Kelly says:

    Posting photos was the straw that broke the camel’s back for me. I’ve not regretted the move at all.

    I like your new addition. I had a Bella at one time, but she looked entirely different – more of a pitt/catahoula blend. I look forward to more photos of your new girl and Jess.

    • Vince says:

      She is remarkably shy of the camera. Once I get some shots of her I’ll up them to this.

  5. R. Sherman says:

    I’ve toyed with idea of changing platforms for years, but I can’t muster the courage. I’m afraid I’ll lose everything. Congrats on taking the plunge. I shall update my sidebar.

    Cheers.

    • Vince says:

      Thanks Randall.
      There is a way to migrate the entire lot over. I will let you know when I find out myself how exactly to do it.

  6. Rebecca S. says:

    Hello Vince, a.k.a. roaringforties. When I saw your comment on my blog this morning I thought it was someone new who happened to write comments in exactly your style πŸ™‚ Anyway, congrats on the move and I hope you will be very happy here – I like the slide show thing, too!

    A friend of mine has a golden lab named Bella. Your new kid is sweet – I love that variety of doggy – keeps their people fit for all the exercise they need!

    Cheers,
    Rebecca

    • Vince says:

      She is quite fat. Might even be preggers. So that fat.
      Anyhow, we’ve been walking about 15 km per day. Anal idiot that I am, I went and bought a pedometer a few months ago. So both dogs are getting about 20.

  7. kathryn says:

    Oh, Vince. I’m so sorry that Blogger went ballistic on you. I can’t imagine how frustrating that must’ve been.

    (Looks around appreciatively) Nice place you have here!

    Welcome Bella! For what it’s worth, I adore the name. And I’m not surprised that Jess is struggling with the adjustment…she’s used to being your one and only.

    • Vince says:

      Yeah, I quite like it meself. The blog template that is. Actually it wasn’t bloggers fault afterall. But I no longer care to put up with the crap and general lack of calm.
      The naming thing is a gimmick that the rescue place has to sink the hook in. If you are calling a dog by name your less likely to return them.
      But Bella is quite nice. Excellent actually for a town dog. My problem is that it wont carry when she is a distance from me. It needs to be one projecting syllable with a hard vowel.

  8. Crystal says:

    I so enjoyed the photos of your four legged friends! I also enjoyed the comment you left on my blog. You have an actual opinon. Imagine that! People are far too accommodating for my taste when it comes to blog comments. Spice is the spice of life. πŸ™‚

    • Vince says:

      I’m one of those that really appreciates diversity. Which to my mind means that people can have strongly held beliefs and discuss them without acrimony.
      As to opinion and comments. Whats the point of commenting if all you are doing is softsoaping. And equally whats the point of reading stuff that you already agree with, you may as well talk out loud with only yourself in the room. There is actually a word for it.

Comments are closed.