Friday Foods

 

Lot of blogs have a foody item. I’m not certain if that’s due to a lack of anything to report generally. But this one is, of course, different as I seem to have a hit on my hands.

This dish began it existence from a recipe written a few weeks ago by Michele. Not that she would ever know this from what I done with it.
It is still a totally vegetarian dish but where Michele had a far drier concoction this has more the consistency of a soup. And where she had the big flat  4inch mushrooms I’ve put dried Porcini and chickpeas.
Anyhows, here goes.

4 cans of chopped plum tomatos. I used Tesco’s. Not cheap as chips, but not trimmed with gold either.
3 10inch Courgettes. Known as Zucchini. French/Italian, who cares. Used to be known as marrows before we got all swanky.
 3 bell peppers. One each of red yellow and green. ‘Cause that’s how they came in the pack.
1 Aubergine.
600g or so of chickpeas. I used 250g dried so I’m guesstimating.
4 medium hot chili-peppers.
 2 organic veg stock.
fist full of seaweed.
1 tsp onion seeds.
 Salt.
 Olive oil.
 A bulb of garlic (optional)
2 tbsp of lemon.

Soak the Porcini, and the chickpeas overnight.
Slice the bell peppers and the courgettes thinly. I used a mandoline, but a sharp knife will do the job also.
Chop the aubergine in slices, then quarter.
A big pot is needed. Empty tom-toes into pot and heat. On another ring with an oiled pan, slightly brown the veg in small batches. About a fist full at a time is enough. As they brown put into the pot. They are thin and cook faster than one might think.
 Empty the mushrooms with the soak water over the veg and tomatoes. Then follow with the seaweed and the onionseed.
Liquidize the chili and the garlic. I find that hitting with the side of the knife makes the job of peeling the garlic easier.
Then put about two pints of water. And bring to just under a boil.
Reduce heat, ’til a blub about every 10 or so seconds. I don’t know what that’s in technical terms but it tends to be about #2/3 on the dial. I cooked on that heat for about an hour all told. But mostly all that is being cooked is the chickpeas, so really one can get away with 40 mins. Then allow to cool.
Now while this is very good the day it’s made, the following days it improved dramatically. But what lifts this out of the ordinary in the seaweed, I believe. Those that know anchovy and what it can do to a dish. Well the seaweed can be used instead and it will have the added advantage of  a natural thickener.
As I was cooking it I reached out for the Worcester sauce. But I was out. Something I’m glad for as it would have ruined the dish.
I cooked this ‘wet’ with the two pints of water in at the end. But I expect to get a drier consistency a pint less would still get the job done. But in those circumstances the chickpeas should be cook independently and added after the cooking process.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday Foods

  1. R. Sherman says:

    That does sound good, but I'm going to save it for the fall when the temperatures around here are not in triple digits.

    Cheers.

  2. Vince says:

    Can be had cold also at a BBQ. 🙂

  3. Ed says:

    I love soups but stink at cooking them for some reason. My wife on the other hand can turn tasty ones out without even trying. I'll have to turn this recipe over to her this winter when soup eating season is upon us.

  4. Kelly says:

    I think I would like to take this basic idea and make a few changes to it. Definite possibilities!

  5. Michele says:

    I've never tried using seaweed as a replacement for anchovy but what a great idea!

  6. You had me at zucchini.

  7. Jen says:

    Soups and chilies are way better the second day!

    Before you invest in a canoe, rent a sit on top kayak and see how you and the pup like it. Hatches and bungees allow you to secure cargo. My friend puts his dog on the back and still has room for a cooler, tent, sleeping bag, fishing gear…I was amazed at the amount of stuff he brought. It will be more stable than a canoe. Here's an example of what I'm talking about. http://www.paddleva.com/product.asp?lt=c&catid=17853&pfid=APP00519

  8. Vince says:

    Thanks Jen, but why 'exactly' the sit on.

    I caused a friend from the States to split her sides mixing up Dr Ruth and Judge Judy.

    Michele, Yes it works in that way. And it has the advantage that you cannot really overdo it like with the fish.

    Kelly, I keep moving it so it never stays the same.

    Ed, I think the trick is a good base.

  9. Looks delish! I'm impressed! It's always impressive when a man can cook a decent meal. And THIS, my friend, is a decent meal! 🙂

  10. Rebecca S. says:

    Looks like a hearty dish and a cross between two soups I make: minestrone and gypsy soup. Well done, chef!
    I have never liked aubergines, so I would leave them out.

Comments are closed.