Oh Holy Night; a chronology, sort of.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oh Holy Night; a chronology, sort of.

  1. sage says:

    It is a beautiful song, especially if the singer has a rich voice or done instrumentally with a string quartet… On another note, how far are you from Dublin.

  2. Vince says:

    What I found interesting about this -my favorite carol- is the change in how it's sung. The first one with Caruso is the only one that follows the 'actual' meaning of the words.

    O holy night! The stars are brightly shining,
    It is the night of the dear Saviour's birth.
    Long lay the world in sin and error pining.
    Till He appeared and the Spirit felt its worth.
    A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices,
    For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn.
    Fall on your knees! Oh, hear the angel voices!
    ( this is an ORDER, in the old fashioned meaning of the word. 'On your knees and listen')
    O night divine, the night when Christ was born;
    O night, O holy night, O night divine!
    O night, O holy night, O night divine!

    Basically, it's a set of instructions to animals that HE who lifts you to Humanity is here. But the newer renditions fluff this in a very major way.

  3. Vince says:

    Sage; about 100miles or thereabouts. Why.

  4. R. Sherman says:

    My favorite Christmas song. Some years back, I heard it sung in German in the Alps on Christmas Eve. It was a special time.

    Cheers.

  5. Vince says:

    I find Silent Night to be very lovely in German also. But I must look up this one.

  6. sage says:

    I'm going to be in Dublin–but just for a day–on August 28… as I get details worked out, I'll write more about my RTW plans. The last part of the trip will involve a cruise line from London to NY that stops in Dublin before going on to Iceland and Greenland.

  7. kathryn says:

    I adore Josh Grobin! I have two of his CDs and his voice never ceases to make me happy.

  8. Rebecca S. says:

    Like Pavarotti. Can't say the same about Josh Groban, unfortunately. My sister sings this song beautifully, though!

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Love these — I post a “carol a day” over at my blog, and included another one by Mario Lanza. I have to tell you how THRILLED I was to see your comments over on Lawyer Mom's blog. I've been “arguing” for quite some time now on her blog and have never seen another dissenter on there. She is smart and vicious, sometimes, but her commenters are generally really awful, so it's nice to hear your voice.

    Cheers to you —

Comments are closed.