Lough Gur; a prehistoric landscape

This landscape has habitation evidence going back seven thousand years.
The first photo is of the New Church. The 2nd and 3rd are taken from that spot directly across to a limestone hill with a stone circle, this can be just seen in #3.
#5 has a Hawk hunting on the hill seen in #4.
The penultimate photo is of part of the Grange stone circle. And the last, the remains of  a circle about 100 yards from the Grange.
In the 1845 survey of Ireland done by the British Army -spit spit- there was another circle much larger than Grange but is now rubbed out. Exactly how far this went I do not know, there may be some of the sockets remaining but for certain there are none there now.

I really think I will move to w-press. This idiocy with the photos is giving me the pip.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lough Gur; a prehistoric landscape

  1. HulaBuns says:

    Wow! These pictures are beautiful! I love the church. My friends just took a trip to Ireland last year. I would love to go, especially to see sites like this.

  2. Vince says:

    Thanks HulaBuns

  3. Kelly says:

    I agree… these photos are absolutely gorgeous!! Such a difference from my everyday world.

    I've found it to be quite different posting photos in the “Blogger in Draft” mode versus the regular mode. I find it easier to manipulate where and what order I want them in with the regular mode, but easier to make them “enlargable” in the draft mode. WP just might be easier all around. I just know Blogger is alot better than where I use to blog at Yahoo360.

  4. Michele says:

    Beautiful pics. Does the sun shine like that all the time? If so, I'm so moving there.

    My husband's grandparents moved here from Ireland in the early 1900s. When we (all the wives) married in we were told to *spit spit* when we said anything about the British army. I see it hasn't changed.

  5. Bernie says:

    Oh these pictures are so beautiful, another place to visit when I go back to Ireland, the most beautiful country in the world….:-) Hugs

  6. sage says:

    Lovely photos–one day I will visit Ireland

  7. Ed says:

    I thought this latest blogger make over just a month old or so really was nice allowing me to manipulate pictures a lot more. You can now just click on the picture and edit it size, shape and placement when in draft mode. The only flaw that they still haven't fixed is that the pictures are added in reverse order of attachment.

  8. kathryn says:

    Gorgeous photos…that new church in photo#1 is positively breathtaking.

    The Grange Stone Circle (spit, spit) is way cool too.

    I kinda like the spitting part, too.

  9. R. Sherman says:

    I tried to comment when this first came up and couldn't because of the paleolithic dial-up connection I have at my house.

    Great photos.

    I've thought about migrating to Word Press, but I just don't have time to do it right. Thus, I'm stuck on Blogger for awhile.

    Cheers.

  10. HulaBuns says:

    LOL! Ok, so is the church picture bigger today than it was on Monday? I came back to see the pictures again and it kind of was like a punch in the face to me (with it being that big). Don't get me wrong, I love the church and am glad to see a larger picture of it, I just wasn't expecting it. 😀

  11. Jen says:

    The photos were driving me insane a couple of weeks ago, but I think I've got it figured out now.

    Is WordPress free?

  12. Rebecca S. says:

    I am going to say ditto to the comment praising Blogger in Draft. Since I applied it I have constant stats, easier photo manuipulation, and lots of other options. Look for a little question that says “Make blogger in draft my default mode” or something to that effect, and it will automatically install it for you. I really like it.
    Lovely photos. Very little is made of stone in this part of Canada, so I particularly love the stone walls next to the lush green of the land.

  13. Kate says:

    I found your site from Pumpkin Delight. I love it. I’m going to poke around a little bit, but don’t worry I’ll put everything back where I found it!!

Comments are closed.