A Photo or Two.

On the blade of the shovel is a Hedgehog that decided to enter my shed, found this morning by Jess.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Photo or Two.

  1. Ed says:

    That is the first hedgehog I've seen.

    I'm assuming that the spider looking plant it art like the elephant like plant pictured after it? It would certainly creep me out walking along the road by the light of the moon.

  2. Bernie says:

    Like Ed this is the first hedgehog that I have seen as well. I love all your pictures, your grass is still so green…..:-) Hugs

  3. Vince says:

    Yes Ed. Wicker art. Made with willow rods. And the elephant is OK, but that spider thingy is downright creepy. It's about 15ft from end to end.

    Bernie; Well, I don't see to many Hedgehogs either. And I'm out most days for at least three hours and in places where you might see them. I thing it's my compost heap that's drawing them, might be anyway.

  4. HulaBuns says:

    Tell Sonic I say “hello” (you know, from the Sonic the Hedgehog Sega game?). 😉

    Beautiful pictures! So, did you have a storm there?

    Also, is that your cow? Apparently my thoughts are pretty random today (so, I'm all over the map with my questions), my apologies! 😀

  5. Vince says:

    No HulaBuns, that's what the sky is like some days.

    I've kept Jess in most of to-day except when we go out together, hoping that Sonic would amble away. But nope, he is just to other side of where I park the car.

    That Heifer, when she saw the camera, lifted her head and stood as she is. If I believed in reincarnation, this one was a model in a past life.

  6. Kelly says:

    Interesting artwork.

    Is the hedgehog still alive? The critters my dogs “find” rarely make it out of the yard with their lives intact, but a recent possum baby did. My husband scooped it with a shover and took it over to a tree which it then scurried up.

    Nice looking cow. I'm guessing beef as opposed to dairy?

  7. Vince says:

    Yes Kelly it is alive. It wasn't until I read your comment that I realised that it could have been either way, by the photo.
    The hedgehog rolls into a ball when under threat, grand with a dog. Not so good when it sees headlights coming towards it.

    I'm going to try and paint one or two of the moody middle ones later on.

  8. Jen says:

    My aunt used to keep a hedgehog as a pet. It was surprisingly affectionate (though not like a dog would be).

  9. Michele says:

    We would find an armadillo instead of a hedgehog in our shed. If we had a shed that is.

  10. Wow! A hedgehog? That's cool. I've never seen one in real life before. How did the dog react to it? The pictures are beautiful. We had a cloudy, drizzly day like that today too. It will be short lived, but it was a nice change from the 110 degree heat.

  11. Vince says:

    Miss Delight; she has never killed anything, yet. So what she does is play scientist with her nose.
    From Ireland if we go south, it would be from now onwards. We consider going on holidays in August to be only for mad dogs and Englishmen. So when the Swallows go south so do we. 110 degree heat would melt us. However, when we get used to it we operate better that most, see Nevada. And gram Parsons had a bit of a fetish with arid places.

    Michele; Everyone should have a shed. It's a state of mind as much as anything.

    Jen; I'll stick with dogs at the moment. Those hedgehogs are alive with lice.

  12. R. Sherman says:

    We don't get hedgehogs here, but I've seen them around my mother-in-law's house in Germany. We get ground hogs lurking in the wood pile, though. My brother and I used to shoot them with .22's from the windows of our house.

    Good times.

    Cheers.

  13. HulaBuns says:

    LOL! I have to agree about the cow.

  14. Vince says:

    Yeah, Punxsutawney Phil.

    Yes HulaBuns, she is a showy one right enough.

  15. Hedgehogs really exist? I was sure they were invented by fairy tale writers.

    Your skies have seen some storming.

    And some beautiful light.

  16. Vince says:

    Oh they exist right enough, the hedgehogs. And that was not a storm, that is just the Atlantic. And our light is gorgeous.

  17. Hi Vince, thanks for your landscape ideas today at Hill Country Mysteries. You know how after a while you don't see things anymore? Nice to have an outside eye on things.

    I liked your idea of lavender on the corner. And the explanation of air around it. My lavenders seem to die when we get either too much water or not enough. The lavender farms around here are built on hills with drip irrigation to control that. I just buy and replant…now I know to replant better and prune. Thanks!

    There are a surprising number of roses for this area. Most are heirloom, as is the little Valentine rose in my garden. I had to hide it behind rosemary to keep the deer from eating it.

  18. kathryn says:

    Sweet little puppy running in the water!

    Lovely clouds and silhouettes of the trees…

    The only hedgehog I've ever seen is blue and is named Sonic and he's a video game character.

    Does it have a head? It looks like a spiny, prickly ball.

    Oh, and MOO.

    (I cannot pass a cow without saying that.)

  19. Rebecca S. says:

    My friend's daughter had a pet hedgehog. It was very cute, but didn't do very much and wasn't exactly cuddly.

Comments are closed.