Swallows

The great Conclave of Swallows and Swifts happened about 15 days ago. Since then the numbers have gotten less and less, but still each day I see some. All the same I’m a bit worried for them and feel that they are the last broods to fledge so are delayed in their development. Given that they are still here it would seen logical that they are putting on fat for the journey to southern Africa. However, the swarms of insects that hatch at the end of the summer in France Spain and further South. Which lift up to the great heights and are the feed for the migrants will have all but vanished before these tardy birds head off.

This last ten days or so I’ve had some sort of late summer flu. I’ve lost 10 kg -about 20 pounds- in weight. So it has been quite nasty. And the only reasons I left the house was to splutter about the market and to bring the hound for her walks.
But it wasn’t the illness that had me losing the will to live. Here are the culprits. Dr Phil, Judge Judy, Oprah, Sally jessica Raphael, the Dr’s, Everwood, Veronica Marrs, the good wife, desprate housewifes, Ellen, Heartland, Ironside, Bloomberg ,Cnn, BBC24.

Veronica Marrs is surprisingly good. A show about a edgy teen detective. I might even say gritty with that bit of angst. Set in San Diego.  And the few Everwood shows I encountered had a teenage boy knocking up his sisters babysitter in Colorado of all places. I wouldn’t have thought Aspens’ town council were all that happy about that storyline. But both of those were the only relief from the mindless pap shovelled out by TV.
For heavens sake lads @ Bl’berg, CNN,BBC. We know they fucked up on Wall St, the City and elsewhere. But is there any chance you might provide decent analysis instead of Olympic standard buck-passing.
 And why in hell do all the girls on the news shows look as if they have been pushed out of the same pea-pod. This regardless of their ethnic background.

I’m putting up a few photos, but I’ve no clue where blogger will decide to insert them.

Wow, blogger did good, for once. The last one has a real Fisher. Too darn good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Swallows

  1. Saw your comments on Jen's Starting Over, laughed and knew I had to come visit your site. Nice to have met you, I've enjoyed visiting.

  2. Ed says:

    Never watched any of those shows except for CNN and then only when I'm at a motel that has cable. When I'm sick, I get me Roku player warmed up and watch old television shows that were either around before me or back in the many years I never had a television which is anything before 1994. If I had to stay home and watch daytime television live, well, I think I would rather watch the ceiling fan spin.

    Hope you are on the mend.

  3. R. Sherman says:

    I'm getting the same damn thing. My sinuses are about ready to explode. I hope yours disappears.

  4. HulaBuns says:

    Sorry you haven't been feeling well, but am glad to hear you are feeling better!

    Blogger and I, also have many of fights over where it wants to insert things and where I want them to be inserted (take that any way you like).

    I'll have to check out Veronica Marrs and Everwood, have never watched them before. I'm all over the place with what I watch, so I'll just add them to the mix. 🙂

  5. Twenty pounds in ten days is a LOT of weight to lose, Vince. I'm sorry to hear you've been so sick.

    Would love to see your Conclave of Swallows and Swifts. I once happened into a place where hundreds swifts swirled like a disappearing tornado into a chimney. It's a cherished memory and I'd love to see your Conclave. We have seasonal swifts and swallows here but no big migratory gatherings.

    Beautiful photos. You have a dreamy eye. I was tickled to see your Fisher. We have them here too.

  6. Vince says:

    Petty Witter; Thanks for the visit and you are welcome anytime.

    Ed; I watch CNN and Bloomberg a fair bit, but never as much and at one sitting as it were.
    And I'm grand ta very much, fit as a whistle as usual.
    We didn't have Electric until 1972, and I think because of that I don't have that addiction to the telly. Such that there are huge great chunks of broadcasting over the last 40 or so years that I've not missed. However, I do like a drama that is well written. But this normally means before the focus groups get their hands on the thing.

    Randall; the cavities are hell when they decide to act up. But I can tell you since I halted all milk products and reduced my intake of coffee and white sugar. I've never been better.

    Hulabuns; you gave me a gentle chuckle. But given my comment on yours re: sideline entertainment, I'll leave it alone.
    And it's Veronica Mars. I looked it up in google for it didn't look correct the way I wrote it.

  7. Vince says:

    Kathleen; Yes, I sorta melted, and the problem now will be with cramp with a bit of exercise. But that's a food issue.
    The arrival of the first Swallow marks the start of Summer for the most part. And the departure is the end.
    But they all sit on the electric and any other wire they can find before 90% of them disappear southward. Like a jury, or a Conclave.

  8. Kelly says:

    Sorry to hear you've been ill.

    I may be one of the only people I know who has never actually watched an episode of Oprah. Now I CAN spend mindless hours watching The Food Network and GSN (Game Show Network).

    That Fisher looks a lot like our Egrets and Herons.

  9. Vince says:

    Kelly; It's a Heron right enough. I stopped myself putting 'man' behind the Fisher. For me that's someone else.

    I doubt Oprah in any incarnation of the corporation is anything you have missed.
    And Kelly, mindless hours are allowed only if ill.

  10. Michele says:

    I'm sorry to hear that you've been ill. Hope you are feeling better now.

    Gorgeous pictures. That last one with the Fisher? We call those Egrets in Houston, Texas. We have tons of those. They hang out in the bayous fishing.

  11. Vince says:

    We have Egrets, now and then during the Summer. But mostly they are from the mediterranean coastal area. It is one of the signs of global warming for us. But then we are so far North that we could do with all the warming we can get.
    That fellow is a Heron, I called him Fisher because that is exactly what he does and far better than any huMAN.

  12. Jen says:

    If I could get reception without cable there is no way I'd pay to watch TV. I mostly watch The Weather Channel, Discovery, The History Channel, and my DVD's.

    I hope you feel better soon.

  13. Beau says:

    Oh I'd love to be on that river in your pictures… with fly pole in hand 🙂 I'm sorry you've been out-of-sorts, to put it lightly I suppose. I've seen a few of those shows… eegads, there's only so much you can take.

    I always watch for our barn swallows to leave, but missed them this year. I did see them congregating in early August, and just a little a few weeks ago. Now it seems they've disappeared, heading southward on their semi-annual journey. I'd like to travel with them…

  14. Rebecca S. says:

    I was out for a run down one of the farm roads here the other day and, for the first time, saw a heron land in a tree. They are such wonderful creatures, and we have a lot around here.
    Most daytime television is rubbish, and the reason all the female newscasters look the same is because they are put in a special box and transmogrified into 'pleasant enough woman with enough hairspray and makeup to suffocate a small animal'. And Oprah was actually classified as a religion by some university in the Eastern U.S. a few years ago!
    When I am ill, I watch movies. Especially romantic comedies. Glad you are better now.

  15. Vince says:

    Jen have you thought about Free To Air satellite.

    Beau; the river is the Suir pronounced sure. It is in the angling world thought to be one of the best trout rivers in the world. I don't really fish it that often for I'm a Dry Fly man myself. So I need something a little bit slower flowing. On that river I've seen Americans use a two handed cast with one of the most ugly actions which brings the line in at knee level, but it gets the job done all the same.

    Rebecca; When I read Oprah opened her own schools in SA. I thought to myself this is a one that has huge notions about herself. Where her dollars could have helped ten existing schools and carry thousands out of poverty. She builds Harrow or Eton.

    RomComs are not my meat. But lordy, I could have done with a few.

    Herons have that flight that makes them look as if the air is far from their proper ambit. So trees seem a step beyond them.

  16. sage says:

    I hope you are feeling better–love your photos!

  17. kathryn says:

    Woah. What kind of sickness did you say this was? I mean, I could stand to lose some weight…are the symptoms really bad, or could you just send me a few??

    Hope you feel better soon, bud.

Comments are closed.