New Stuff

Ten years ago, I had of course seen a charger but not owning a mobile phone due to the extortionate prices did not possess one myself. Things have changed over that time, Oh Boy have they changed. Nowadays I have twenty or more of these things, for phones, hand held tools, even a Free to Air sat’ receiver and all different in some way.
What on earth are they trying to do to us for if this keeps going we will be swimming through the things. For none bins these things ever. There are so damn many of them that you can never be fully certain that you would toss the correct one. And then you would have the flaming nightmare of sheepishly going to some really posh shop. The type of place populated by people designed to grate with their snooty air of superiority and where six months earlier you went to purchase the latest must have doodah.
Now, these people Know the moment you step through the door that you’ve done something idiotic and you can virtually see then spinning the roulette with all the numbers replaced with errors. Nor does it matter how long you spend mooching about the store  before slinking to the help desk where the winner steps from the ranks with that gleam in his eye and a “how may Sir help me”.
So, you remove the item from the pocket, extend it in cradled palms and mumble “charger, please”. Whereupon the Assistant reaches draws and scans in one motion while the mouth enunciates Cash or Charge with that tone indicating the doubtful possibility of the latter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Stuff

  1. Jen says:

    I found the generic chargers at Target that work with any brand of phone. Those people no longer intimidate me.

  2. Tracey says:

    I have an iPod, which I purchased from a big electronics store that was closing. And while I love this gadget, I just can not bring myself to go all in for the Apple brand. Why? Well, the price. But more than that. The APPLE STORE. You need a passport for that place. Young, hipsters with daddy's credit card stand out (and in)side the place, making me feel old and frumpy and stupid and poor.

    My soon-to-be brother-in-law is a naturalized citizen of this place and an ambassador/guide of sorts, so I may come around. When the prices go down.

  3. Rebecca S. says:

    My kids have chargers. I don't, but judging from my post on technology, I'm sure you would know that. I'm getting closer to buying my new camera every day, though!
    We have a store here called Future Shop which is full of young salespeople. Most of them are very nice though, and patient. Is that because I live in a farming community, and not an urban center?

  4. sage says:

    I hear your pain–as there is a box of chargers (no longer useful) here–it's even more of a shame how quickly stuff fails or is out-of-date.

  5. Vince says:

    @ Jen; Tracey; Rebecca; Sage.

    Why the dickens are they all different. I have some that look like the pin you pull from a new shirt and others that would hardly fit in the diesel tank cap of the car. And why the array of voltages.

  6. Jen says:

    There's an award for you on my blog.

  7. Rebecca S. says:

    Vince: No idea about the chargers. Sorry. I can help you with posting an award on your blog, though. Just right click on the award and save it in a picture file on your computer, then post it as you would a picture on your 'layout' list. Hope that helps.

Comments are closed.