Kilkenny

A visit to Kilkenny was called for as the Library sent me one of their letters !.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kilkenny

  1. Rebecca S. says:

    The home of one of my favourite ales! But what is the castle type building with all the banners in front? I'm wondering what kind of letter that was…a letter from our library would generally mean one is going to be cut off from borrowing books due to insane fines.

  2. Vince says:

    Kilkenny Castle, Rebecca, I would hot-link to wiki if I knew how to do it. And the letter was of the type you mentioned except they are spat out of a printer two seconds after midnight on the day after they are overdue.
    The second photo is of the stable block and I'm standing in the doorway under the green tower for Photo #1.

  3. Jen says:

    Castles! One day I'll go to Europe and see real castles.

  4. Vince says:

    @Jen. In Ireland we have a lot of not very big Castles, and the one in Kilkenny is perhaps the largest.

  5. Rebecca S. says:

    I have only one thing to say for myself regarding the name of that castle. Duh.

  6. Vince says:

    Ah I would not be too hard on yourself, quite honestly, other that Kilkenny, Dublin and Trim Castles, the town and the Castle have different names. Mostly it must be said, because it is very rare that you have a town and a Castle side by side.
    In Irish, Dun or is the name for a stone fort. It is the same in Scotland and Wales.

Comments are closed.